Battery life on ICS ... MY Experience.

MattyP

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
There has been a ton of talk about battery life with ICS, and while I am NOT an expert on the subject, I can say from personal experience that it all depends on how the phone is set up. I had a Droid 2 before I got a Razr Maxx, and I got pretty good battery life with the D2, even though I had it over-clocked. The D2 lasted me almost two years before I went to the Razr Maxx. You have to remember if the phone is on and in use, even if the screen is off, it's using battery. EVERY app and function in the phone uses battery.

While this is simply MY personal preference with the setup on MY phone, there are things you can do to take care of the battery and make the phone use less battery. Everyone uses their phone for different things, and in different ways, so as the old saying goes, "your mileage may vary".

First of all, my phone IS rooted, and yes, I tether my laptop. Take THAT Big Red. :icon_ devil:

The CPU in the Razr Maxx is listed as 1.2 MHZ, with 1 GB of RAM. That's blazing fast for a phone. But that fast dual-core CPU uses battery. So after much research and reading, I UNDER-clocked my phone. (Yes the phone HAS to be rooted to do this, as far as I know, I may be wrong) I use "SetCPU", which is available in the store. I set up "profiles" in SetCPU to under-clock, using less CPU, which in turn uses less battery. If my screen is on, it only uses 1000 MHZ, rather than 1200. If my screen is off, and the phone is not being used, it uses only 300 MHZ. If I turn the screen on to use the phone, it automatically kicks on to use the 1000 MHZ I have it set for. And as the battery drains, it uses even less CPU and battery when the battery level gets to 80%, 60%, 40%, and 20%. Essentially, the more the battery drains, the less CPU it uses. The only noticeable difference in performance is when the phone gets to 20% and it's using minimal CPU, it's just a tad bit slower.