Barometer & Temperature

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by untoothedyouth, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. untoothedyouth

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So this is my first phone with both of these guages (excluding battery temp guage). Does anyone know if there's a way we can access these features or maybe an app that does?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Don't get too excited, the only temperature this phone reads is the battery and cpu temps - not environmental temps. Same goes for the barometer - this is only accessed by the phone to assist with faster gps locks via atmospheric pressure readings.
     
  3. untoothedyouth

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weeeeellllll DARN! :D

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  4. 2ksilverbullet

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    pressureNET uses the barometer sensor. Have it on my Xoom as well...
     
  5. untoothedyouth

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool. I'll check that out.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  6. pheitmeyer

    pheitmeyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    good find thx!
     
  7. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,900
    Likes Received:
    728
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +889
    Anyone seen any comparisons with the Razr and Rezound as far as the barometer helping on GPS lock?
     
  8. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    They don't have one.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. steveky

    steveky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Ratings:
    +1
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S6
    Does that mean the GN should have a more sensitive GPS?
     
  10. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Technically it should be more accurate and provide faster locks. Whether it helps that much seems to vary from each user. GPS on my Nexus is rock solid so I'm happy.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
does my droid x have a barametric sensor
,

droid razr barometer

,
droid razr m barometer
,

galaxy nexus temperature sensor

,
how to access barometer on galaxy nexus
,
is there an app for droid razr showing ambient temp
,
nexus temperature sensor
,
razr hd barometer
,
temp sensor for droid razr
,
what is a barometer temperature?