Backing up apps data?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Stang68, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone,

    I've searched and have found nothing, amazingly! I am getting a replacement for Droid from VZW and want to know how I can backup my apps data. How do you do it? I'm not rooted and not on Froyo.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    You mean apps? or app data? I use my backup pro.. works great.
     
  3. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Apps data. I have My Backup Pro, as well, and it only backs up applications. There must be a way to backup application data!

    (On a side note, that app is not so great. I used it once after a factory reset and it installs your backed up apps for you, but not from the Market. If you want any updates, etc from the market, you have to install them from THERE and NOT from My Backup Pro).
     
  4. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ratings:
    +204
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Twitter:
    @Shadez69
    Its sure a hell of alot easier doing it this way and then updating the few apps that may have updates then remembering all the apps you had, typing them all in again at the market..
     
  5. possessedskier
    Offline

    possessedskier Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York State, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titanium Backup will backup apps and data. You can restore both, just the app, or just the data.
     
  6. liquidzoo
    Offline

    liquidzoo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titanium is root only.

    I have no idea if there is an app that will back up application data. Your purchased apps are tied to your gmail account. Not sure about the ones that you install that are free, though.
     
  7. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you sure that MyBackup Pro is the app only and not data? That would make it rather useless, considering how your apps will auto-download from the market after a wipe...?
     
  8. NewDroidOrder
    Offline

    NewDroidOrder Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Great Northwest (Portland)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like the best course of action for u would be to..... ROOT! join the club: we have savable app data!

    aaah people who are worried about voided warranties just havent thought of throwing their phone under the car and running it over. cant check to see if u rooted then, now can they :D
     
  9. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    Stang68,
    Which data are you worried about? It might be easier if we start there.

    There is an app that backs up all your text messages to the web. Your contacts will also be backed up to gmail. Any apps you paid for remain paid for. The majority of apps you have downloaded will automatically redownload to your phone again. You will have to set up your desktops again, placing icons where you want them.

    As others have suggested, rooting is an option to grab all that data, then you can return the phone to stock condition and return it. You will need to root the new phone to get the data back. As you might suspect, returning that phone to stock will result in losing the data again, so you'd have to remain rooted.

    NewDroidOrder...that would be insurance fraud. Please refrain from suggesting that, thanks.
     
  10. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not really any specific data. Just application data, in general. Say, my notes in my Notepad, my passwords in Password Keeper, etc. I feel like Google kind of dropped the ball here. Thank God it's fixed in Froyo!

    So what I'm gathering is that there is no way to backup application data without rooting? Kind of sucks! I'll look into rooting, I guess, even though it was something I wanted to avoid.

    Can anyone suggest a good rooting FAQ?
     
  11. Briankbl
    Offline

    Briankbl Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +25
    My Backup Pro DOES...I repeat, DOES...backup/restore Applications AND App Data.
     
  12. Stang68
    Offline

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really?? Mine didn't last time I used it to restore. Bummer.
     
  13. Meto
    Offline

    Meto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Backup Pro will back up things like your Call Log, Contacts, text messages etc.., but WILL NOT backup application data.

    I had applications like Personal Assistant and Easy Note where I lost everything after I rooted.
     
  14. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    1st link in my sig...post 13. Read through it a couple of times but basically it involves getting rsd lite installs, flashing sprecovery with it, then flashing the froyo rooted rom. Or you can install any other rom you'd like.
     
  15. yorT
    Offline

    yorT Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to bring this thread back up but pretty much same question I have. Also when you go to root to use Titanium Back up you'll lose all your application data so it's kind of pointless for the OP. I was wondering if there was a way to save application data like, don't laugh, angry birds. If I go and root again I'll lose all my angry birds progress. I know it's silly but you'd think there would be a way to back that up as well.

    Edit: Well I stand corrected, you won't lose you app data if you root as MotoCache1's guide will root with current OTA update. Very well written:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
Search tags for this page

backing up data on motorola droid

,

does my backup pro backup app data

,

does mybackup pro restore app data

,

droid backup app data

,

droid3 backup apps and data without root

,

how to backup all personal data

,

how to backup apps on droid dna

,

how to get back app data on droid x

,

to backup app data on droid dna