Backing up Contact Ringetone Assignments

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mikenilson, Aug 27, 2010.

  1. mikenilson

    mikenilson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Backing up Contact Ringtone Assignments

    I did a search and this issue has been addressed many times, but never answered definitively. Is there an app or way to do this if you are not rooted? I am getting a replacement phone from Verizon today and don't want to do this manually. Does the setting on your phone under Privacy/Back up my data and Automatic Restore do this? If not what do these do? I will be downloading MyBackUp Pro but I do not thing this does it.
     
    #1 mikenilson, Aug 27, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2010
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Good question. I'm assuming you've received your new droid by now....did the backup data thing work for your assigned ringtones?
     
  3. mikenilson

    mikenilson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told that my replacement was back ordered. I should receive it sometime this up coming week.
     
  4. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes Super Moderator
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    Aww that sucks! I just did some searching and I came up with this:

    menu button -> more -> import/export -> Export to SD card

    after it's done exporting

    menu button -> more -> import/export -> export from SD card
    and chose destination as phone, and if you have multiple backups , chose select multiple backups and check the one you want

    after this is done

    go to any contact -> edit
    you'll find there are 2 tabs , google tab and phone tab
    go to phone tab , and there is the ringtone drop down menu *yay*

    Can't hurt to give it a try! Let us know if that worked :D
     
  5. mikenilson

    mikenilson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does not work. It creates double contacts. There is no tab for phone or google on my Droid. I had to log into my google account online and delete all the double contacts. Thanks for trying!