1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Auto capitalization of "i"

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by jh120, Aug 8, 2010.

  1. jh120
    Offline

    jh120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just switched from Swype to the multi-touch keyboard and noticed immediately that it does not auto-capitalize "i", "i'm" etc. I tried adding the capitalized versions of these words to the user dictionary but this does nothing; it doesn't even bring up the caps version as a suggested word. I tried another keyboard (SwiftKey) but found that I really need the multi-touch since swiftkey missed many of my key presses. Has anyone come up with a way to fix this?
  2. ogDroid
    Offline

    ogDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Do you have the setting enabled?

    If not, go to Settings > language & keyboard settings > Android keyboard > Check the "Auto-capitalization" option.
  3. jh120
    Offline

    jh120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, auto-capitalization is enabled.
  4. validoption
    Offline

    validoption New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1. The setting is correct, it just won't auto-cap i.

    Sent from my DROIDX
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Coming from the original Droid to the x, It'd like to know if anyone has figured this out as well. The D1 did it right from the start, so I'm kinda confused why they'd take such a handy feature out...

    Emitted from X.
  6. haticK
    Offline

    haticK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think steve jobs is trying to say something
  7. ThirdWheel
    Offline

    ThirdWheel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    God, I've had this problem since day one after swapping back from Swype. Sooooo annoying.
  8. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    The update is sorely needed on the x.

    Between the shoddy keyboard, the battery life problems, and the not as good as iphone pictures even with flash I think a droid x in my household will be getting returned.
  9. Scottay5150
    Offline

    Scottay5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    I'm not sure wich phone you speak of... the X is an INCREDIBLE
    piece of equipment .... beyond iPhone. Give it some time, let CS @
    VERIZON know what you speak of. Might be a lemon. FWIW
  10. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    I hear you. The problem is that my woman isn't happy about all this. I sorted out the battery problems, i tell her we can download a different keyboard...

    The pictures look fine to me but the iphone has the saturation turned up or something so the colors look brighter. I'll see if i can mess with those settings.

    It's the little things too, like if you are on a search results page at google.com and you edit the search at the top, the button on the keyboard is Next instead of Go. Next takes you to the bottom search box and it's annoying. I think that the transition from iphone to X can be a real shocker...in a bad way.

    By the way, can you tell which phone i am using to type this because i think you can?
  11. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Bad news guys. 2.2 Doesn't fix the i issue. You'll have to remember to capitalize it.

    2.1 on the Droid it was not an issue.
  12. jh120
    Offline

    jh120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just noticed something else weird: if you type a string of words ending with the word i and then hit enter to go to the next line, it auto-caps the I. This is without adding a period at the end of that first line. So there is something in the software that knows I's need to be capitalized, it just doesn't kick in at the correct times.
  13. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    No chance of a last minute fix???

    So which is the best? Better Keyboard or Smart Keyboard Pro
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Same thing will happen if you go two spaces over. Does it to all letters.
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I purchased better keyboard. I didn't think it was better.
  16. jh120
    Offline

    jh120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried this and it only seems to happen with i. Typing a string ending in "a" and hitting enter or going two spaces over doesn't cap the a. And going 2 spaces over from an i doesn't cap it either, even with auto-punctuation turned off.
  17. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Smart keyboard pro demo looks promising. Still doesn't capitalize i but the paid version probably does. Of course i have a problem with this keyboard too...when you use the microphone button it pops up a long list of ridiculous possibilities and you have to chose one. Minor annoyance, I guess, and the ol' lady hasn't complained about it.
  18. haticK
    Offline

    haticK New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just use the multitouch keyboard and hit shift...it really isnt that hard
  19. Jonny Kansas
    Offline

    Jonny Kansas Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    It's not so much a matter of difficulty as it is a matter of convenience. As previously stated, I come from using the D1, which auto-capped the I. It was just nice to be able to push i and then space without that extra button push.

    Not something to send me looking for a keyboard alternative, just a nice feature that I figured would work.

    Emitted from X.
  20. edwardsgroup
    Offline

    edwardsgroup New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Even BLACKBERRY capitalized the i for me!!! It looks like some jr. programmer at Motorola may have accidentally punched in the enter key instead of the space key??? HAHAHA Classic!!! A patch or quick update in 2.2 would be nice!!! Are you listening Moto????
Search tags for this page

android capital i

,
android quit capitalizing i when i text
,
droid autocapitalize i
,
droid x capital i
,
google keyboard doesn't capitalize i
,
google keyboard not capitalizing i
,
my phone wont charge capitalize the
,
stop auto-capitalization i galaxy s4
,
stop swype from capitalizing i
,
swiftkey will not capitalize i
,
swype keyboard won't capitalize i
,
swype stop capitalising
,

swype won't capitalize i

,
why doesn't pages capitalize i
,
why doesnt iphone auto capitlize i