Anyone have APPS2SD running and working?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by luvdldy, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. luvdldy

    luvdldy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am trying to get this up and running for the first time on ANY ROM! Since I am using Sapphire, I tried to do the partition via ROM Manager and got nothing!!! Can someone PLEASE tell me how to get APPS2SD working on this ROM or any other for that matter?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. sniffle

    sniffle Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Birmingham AL
    Ratings:
    +0
    apps2sd is now built into froyo, it doesn't work on all apps, as it has to also be built into the app itself and we can't control that.

    to test out if apps2sd is working download google skymap, it should install directly to sd and move back and forth when you push the button to do so.

    at least thats the way it works for me...
     
  3. jfourman

    jfourman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a Froyo ROM installed, you can install apps to your SDCard. If you are rooted, try to change this setting as follows (credit to another poster):

    go to a terminal emulator and enter
    su (enter)
    pm setInstallLocation 2 (enter)
    It will do nothing just exit.
    U can now move most apps to sd card under settings.manage apps. Move to sd card!
    May be issues like widget doesn't load. So try it and discuss!
    Must be running froyo, must be rooted, follow command exactly.
    Update*
    After playing with it for a few hours I suggest only changing apps that are standalone such as games.
    Leave the home replacements, active task killers, widgets or anything running in the backround.
    After a reboot it may look like ur apps are gone. Just give them time to load from the sd card.

    Don't move apps with widgets to the SDCard. All apps will now install to the SDCard. You can move them back to the phone in the Application Manager.

    I have over half of my apps running from the SDCard and see no difference in performance. My only issue is that I use ADW Launcher and it takes a little while after a reboot for the apps to show in the drawer.
     
  4. luvdldy

    luvdldy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks jfourman... I was trying this through ROM Manager:

    [How To]Apps2SD for Droid! - Android Forums

    And I didn't see the Apps2SD in the Settings.

    I just tried what you gave me and once I download everything back to my SD card, I will test.
     
  5. dmacleo

    dmacleo Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Etna,ME
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the instructions just posted and works well, like said widget driven items need to stay internal until devs catch up.
    I use it just due to limited room on internal..
     
  6. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, it's more of a pain than anything at this point to force apps to the SD card since widgets stop working and you lose your shortcuts on your home screen an app drawer on reboot with 3rd party launchers. You can restart the launcher and it'll fix the shortcut/app drawer problem but it's annoying. It's fine for large games and such but not really worth it for the others.
     
  7. FSRBIKER

    FSRBIKER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks jfourman! I knew there had to be a script for this, I never move apps with widgets on other Rom's but like to free up room on apps that run perfectly fine off of the SD card.
     
  8. RevivaL

    RevivaL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is exactly what i did too.

    in terminal, go to preferences then set your initial command line so it looks like this

    export PATH=/data/local/bin:
    $PATH
    bash
    su

    then, go into terminal and type this, minus the quotes "pm setInstallLocation 2" , then enter. nothings going to happen, but you'll be able to move all your apps to the sd card from the manage apps. I've been using this, works like a charm.
     
  9. Barkleyfan

    Barkleyfan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    Ratings:
    +9
    What difference does altering the initial command line make?
     
  10. chewy74

    chewy74 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +16
    anyone one know where the apps are stored when apps2sd are enabled and installing to the sd card?
     
Search tags for this page
apps2sd doesnt work on razr i
,

apps2sd droid x2.bin