Android @ Work: Google starts Android Enterprise

PereDroid

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Moto Turbo 2
android-ER-shadow2x.max-1000x1000.png

Google launched a new program yesterday, Android Enterprise, aimed at business IT Departments so they know which phones are going to be supported with security updates in the long term. Phones on the Google approved list must meet a minimum specifications requirement and the manufacturer must commit to 3 years of security updates. Also, all phones on the list must be within 90 days on security updates.
As an IT Professional myself that supports the phones in my office I will absolutely recommend and maybe enforce this list on my employees. Security is very important in my industry (legal).
Suspiciously absent from the recommended list is Samsung with not one phone making the cut.

Here's the list:
  • BlackBerry KEYone and Motion

• Google Pixel, Pixel XL, Pixel 2, and Pixel 2 XL

• Huawei Mate 10, Mate 10 Pro, P10, P10 Plus, P10 Lite, and P smart

• LG V30 and G6

• Motorola X4 and Z2

• Nokia 8

• Sony Xperia XZ1, XZ1 Compact, XZ Premium, XA2, and XA2 Ultra
Source: Google

Last edited:

me just sayin

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Note 8
just about every major brand but samsung???? sounds like they did not want to pay off google to me. based on the specifications requirements list, there is no reason for them not to have at least one phone on the list.

OP
PereDroid

PereDroid

Diamond Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Moto Turbo 2
Sounds to me like they didn't want to commit to 3 years of security updates.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

pc747

Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Yeah but I'm surprised Huawei is on the list considering (Citing risks but no evidence, US intel chiefs warn against using Huawei, ZTE phones | ZDNet).