Android Auto

Discussion in 'Droid Moto Z Force' started by kmf1, Nov 21, 2017.

  1. kmf1

    kmf1 Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Trophy Points:
    1,713
    Location:
    Northeast Iowa
    Ratings:
    +2,744
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Z Force Droid Verizon
    Are any of you Z Force owners using the Android Auto stand alone app? Now that Waze can be used with it I might consider giving A A a try. Right now I use the Waze app for driving, and Moto Voice to handle the sms while driving.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  2. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,153
    Likes Received:
    11,778
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,334
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I have not tried Android Auto yet. I would think that someone here with a Z Force / Z / Z Play has tried it.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  3. kmf1

    kmf1 Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Trophy Points:
    1,713
    Location:
    Northeast Iowa
    Ratings:
    +2,744
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Z Force Droid Verizon
    Thanks Sajo. I might give it a try as I travel today. I'll let you know how it goes.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. kmf1

    kmf1 Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Trophy Points:
    1,713
    Location:
    Northeast Iowa
    Ratings:
    +2,744
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Z Force Droid Verizon
    You have to disable Moto voice, to enable Google voice in order for Android Auto to use voice commands. Not sure that I gain much doing that.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,153
    Likes Received:
    11,778
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,334
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Oh, that's right. Now I remember why I didn't buy the Incipio car dock Mod and use it. I don't want to disable Moto Voice to use Android Auto. Thanks for the reminder, and information.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Trophy Points:
    1,548
    Ratings:
    +1,752
    I tried it for awhile....found it kinda mehh..... Deleted.... Haven't missed it.
    OK Google and Moto voice together do a much better job

    Sent from my Moto Z (2)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    great review :)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. radon222

    radon222 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    697
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Ratings:
    +732
    Digging up an old thread...but this is applicable.

    I thought I was slick over the winter setting up my garage door opener with a WiFi enabled momentary switch and creating a GA routine so I could just say "Hey Google, Open the garage door". The routine itself works great except this past weekend I was out and about on the motorcycle and had Android Auto running my Pixel2 with Waze & Spotify streaming to my helmet headset. When I got home I tried to launch the voice routine and Google told me that "Rouitines are not enabled for this device"....

    Google search found that Google has indeed disabled Goggle Assistant routines from with Android Auto stand-alone. There are many threads on the Google support forums with no replies from Google as to why.
     
  9. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,153
    Likes Received:
    11,778
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,334
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Isn't it great how Google changes things, but then won't even answer questions about it on their own Product Forums. I have a few questions open with no response on their Product Forums, but the fix has long since been out. Craziness. I wonder why they would remove that from Android Auto? Strange.

    Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
     
    #9 Sajo, Apr 12, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2019