alternate keyboard cyanogenmod 7.1.0

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by JDuaneJ, Jun 10, 2012.

  1. JDuaneJ
    Offline

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently rooted my wife's incredible to the cyanogenmod 7.1.0 and I've been trying to get my keyboard app to work but cannot seem to find a way to disable the default one in android in 2.3.7

    Anyone know a way to do this? There doesn't seem to be an option to disable it the settings.
  2. JDuaneJ
    Offline

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guess I'm sol on this one. Lol wish I wasn't such a newb.
  3. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Is the one you want to use a keyboard from the market or something like that? All you should have to do is enable the new one in Settings > Language and input (something like that).

    After you select it go into the messaging app or anywhere you can type and longpress on the text field. Should be a "Select Input" option there. Just select the keyboard you want and you should be good to go.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
    Tapatalk 2_ ICS Xparent
  4. JDuaneJ
    Offline

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wasn't aware of the long press thing via the messaging app...I'm trying to setup smart keyboard for my wife. In the settings/input whatever its called (don't have the phone with me) the check box to disable the default keyboard is greyed out. I can see the option there, but cannot change it. Ill try the long press thing in the messaging app. Thanks for the response. I'm not a newb to tech, just rooting and playing with mods. Lol
  5. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Is it a keyboard from the Play Store? You may not need to disable the stock one but just select the new one in settings. Then attempt the long press like I detailed above.
  6. JDuaneJ
    Offline

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes its called smart keyboard. Still can't seem to "activate" it. Is it the Tom I wonder? Idk ha
  7. JDuaneJ
    Offline

    JDuaneJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *Rom I mean...smart keyboard not so smart. Lol
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,933
    Likes Received:
    282
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yeah not too sure why it won't work. Maybe try uninstalling it and then installing it again. Not sure if it will help but its worth a shot.
Search tags for this page
change keyboard cyanogenmod
,
cyanogen 7 keyboard
,
cyanogen change keyboard
,
cyanogen keyboard
,
cyanogenmod 7 keyboard
,
cyanogenmod alternate keyboard
,
cyanogenmod change keyboard
,

cyanogenmod keyboard

,
cyanogenmod keyboard change
,
cyanogenmod keyboard settings
,
cyanogenmod phone keyboard
,
cyanogenmod switch keyboard
,
cyanogenmod won't remember default keyboard
,
keyboard cyanogenmod 7
,
keypad typing in cyanogenmod