Almost no apps go to SD

Discussion in 'Droid Concepts' started by sudermatt, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. sudermatt
    Offline

    sudermatt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I missing a setting?

    I can't get any app to go to my SD card. They all install onto device memory. I'm out of room, please help!

    Thanks,
    Matt
  2. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Active Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In a van by the River......
    seriously how many apps do you have? i had over 120 apps and still had plenty of room left over.


    but in order to get the apps to SD its up to the developer to allow it. you can always goto... settings > applications > manage applications > then select the application you want to move .... if the developer has enabled apps2sd you will see a grey button to move it to the SD card.


    to be quite honest very few are actually enabling this feature.
  3. sudermatt
    Offline

    sudermatt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've gone into "Manage Apps".

    almost no apps allow me to "move to sd".

    Does this mean it's set up to automatically do it in the ROM?
  4. stratt
    Offline

    stratt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like Garrett said....."if the developer has enabled apps2sd you will see a grey button to move it to the SD card.


    to be quite honest very few are actually enabling this feature"
  5. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Active Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In a van by the River......

    its not up to the rom its up to the the application developer to enable it.
  6. woodyman
    Offline

    woodyman New Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    exactly as Garrett said, its up to the app developer..

    the final source of 2.2, and the latest SDK for the app Developers was released a few days ago, so more of your apps should be getting updated to the new 2.2 base, and they will be available for movement to the sdcard..
  7. DyMiC
    Offline

    DyMiC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Page, AZ
    I just use Titanium Backup... and it lets me move whatever I want over...

    Though I noticed on other phones, like a Droid Eris, that it has the MOVE TO options grayed out.

    I guess try it and see what happens.

    NOTE: I didn't partition my card. I had my old card partitioned, and it burned out. I'm using a 2GB card now (SUCK), but it seems to be running much faster and much better unpartitioned (did I just created a new word?).
  8. garrett
    Offline

    garrett Active Member Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,017
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    In a van by the River......

    titanium doesnt install/run apps from the SD card it only allows you to back them up to the SD card.
Similar Threads
  1. Aegon
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    992
  2. AmericanNomads
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,179
  3. ayphool
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,063
  4. ayphool
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,381
  5. rumblee1
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    745
Loading...
Search tags for this page

iphone no room to down load does it go to sdcard automatical

,

lg ally force to sd

,

lg ally move app to sd card