advanced task killer

milehi202

Reaction score
I use ATK and Memory Task Cleaner..Do I need both...When I use MTC it says it has freed X amount of memory..Is this true? or am I wasting my time..My droid seems to run smooth...But would like to get a honest opion on this subject please...thankyou:motdroidhoriz:

owlclaw

Reaction score
I'm not an expert on the subject, but I used an app killer frequently until I saw this from the help menu of the SystemPanel app...
"the [Android] OS itself automatically removes programs from memory as memory is needed. The OS may also preload applications into memory which it thinks might soon be needed."
Having lots of available memory doesn't appear to improve battery life, and they recommend only using "end all" applications if the phone is performing poorly...
I haven't been going out of my way to conserve memory lately and haven't noticed any difference...

deadernie

Reaction score
You really don't need either one. I've had my droid since shortly after launch date and have never had speed or memory issues. If you do get a bad app that's sucking up battery or memory you can close it using the stock applications management in the menu.

gszeman

Reaction score
+1 for the post above me. I used a task killer for a while, then have been without one for the past week our so. I haven't noticed any difference either way. My phone is actually running its best now, but I think it has a lot to do with the rom I have running now (Buglessbeast 1.0)

Sent from my Droid

snappingfish

Reaction score
seems to get for/agains't in equal parts

+1 for the post above me. I used a task killer for a while, then have been without one for the past week our so. I haven't noticed any difference either way. My phone is actually running its best now, but I think it has a lot to do with the rom I have running now (Buglessbeast 1.0)

Sent from my Droid