Advanced Settings In SetCPU For Battery Life

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011.

  1. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone,

    First time poster, I'm a big fan of the boards and all that I've learned from everyone here. First off, a little about myself. I'm using an original Droid, rooted, and currently running CM 7 stable. What brings me here today is finding a good balance of power and battery life. I understand that I will need to sacrifice some power to save battery life, and I'm OK with that. Sometimes I can't leave my apartment for fear of my phone dying on me though (well, not really, but how bad would if be if my car broke down and my phone was dead?). I read Skull One's 101 OverClocking 101 thread and learned a lot from it. However, I've been playing with the settings, notably the Powersave Bias and Up Threshold, and cannot seem to find a good match. Regardless of what settings I put in, my phone comes off sluggish and sometimes even stops to a crawl. I was wondering what settings you guys have had success with? Or even what I should consider trying? I've attached my Profile settings as well. I should note that I had to jack up the min because 125 was too slow, my phone would have trouble waking up when I unlocked it, or it would take a few extra seconds to wake up when I got a call.

    For the Sampling Rate, I've been using 32000
    For the Ignore Nice Load, I've been using 0

    I'm still learning the ins and outs of this wonderful program, so I'm open to any suggestions you may have for either the Profiles or Advanced sections.
     
    #1 Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Try stepping your minimum up one notch and reboot. That may help. If not, you could try a different kernel.

    This thread has been Thunder struck!!
     
  3. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    Step up a voltage in your kernal. Also set a profile for in-call for 550 to help squeeze a little more battery
     
  4. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stepping up the min under Main? That new min would be 400, how much of a savings would I be looking at if I jacked it up from 250? I ask because I don't know where to find the voltage differences. And I don't know a thing about kernels or how to switch them. Doesn't mean I can't figure it out, I just wouldn't know what kernel to look at or try. I just did all the hacking and stuff this past weekend.
     
    #4 Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  5. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean by "step up a voltage in your kernel"? Will add the profile right now for in-call, should I do a min of 550 and a max of 800? Or make it 550/550? And what priority should it take?

    And I do apologize, I'm going to ask a lot of clarification questions since I'm still rather new to all of this.
     
    #5 Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    You should have options for ultra low voltage, low voltage, or medium voltage kernels.

    This thread has been Thunder struck!!
     
  7. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    #7 Htown315, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  8. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Stepping up the minimum speed should reduce your lag and shouldn't have that much impact on battery life...especially when scaling On Demand.

    This thread has been Thunder struck!!
     
  9. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why 100% priority? And how so I flash the zip? Put it on my SD card and reboot into recovery? And do I rename the file you linked to just "update.zip" and then flash that?

    Also while I'm waiting for replies, I'm out on Google trying to find the answers to my own questions.

    Edit** Got the kernel installed. Shows the max as being 800 still. So I have to ask, what was the point of me installing that new kernel? Is it lower voltage?

    What about the other settings I asked for before? Or should I slow down and do this one post at a time?
     
    #9 Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  10. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    100% because I want to my phone to obey me lol. Its a medium voltage kernal and very stable that's why I chose it for you. I trust that you did a complete wipe? Cache, dalvikcache and data? I am recommending a full wipe because it will eliminate the possible causes for your problems. If you didn't completely wipe then...reboot to recovery and wipe everything..flash rom..flash kernal..reboot.
     
  11. Whitechapel

    Whitechapel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ypsilanti, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wiped the cache and dalvik-cache, not data. I can't wipe my phone's entire data right now. I could but I'd rather not though for the moment, I will do it when I finally have the spare money to invest in Titanium Backup. Everything is running fine with it, I've been playing with it since I flashed the kernel. So what is next?
     
    #11 Whitechapel, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  12. Htown315

    Htown315 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +10
    If everything is dandy then don't worry about it and enjoy your phone. I'd get TB its a valuable tool. What's next? Idk man read up on the forums and tinker with stuff lol. Maybe try out other Roms? Have fun
     
    #12 Htown315, Aug 19, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
Search tags for this page
best setcpu settings for battery life
,
power save bias
,
powersave bias
,
powersave bias setcpu
,

setcpu advanced settings

,
set cpu battery setting
,
setcpu powersave
,
setcpu power save bias
,

setcpu powersave bias

,
setcpu sampling rate