Power button broken..help please?

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by dmilota, Jul 31, 2011.

  1. dmilota
    Offline

    dmilota New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello everyone.. I have an OG Droid running LGB 2.4.
    My power button is permanently depressed, it wont work the screen off or on anymore, and I I'm holding out on upgrading currently. I was wondering if there's a way to swith the power button operation with the camera button? ATM I have the volume buttons set to wake the phone, but I'm worried if my phone shuts off I wont be able to turn it back on :*( i think the volume buttons only wake it if its already on...is there any option/setting that will make it so the camera or even volume button will turn the phone on from being off, so I don't have to use the power Button on the top of the phone ? Any help/advice is much appreciated, thanks In advance!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  2. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    I read about something like this, but it might have only been to remap the wake function to the volume rockers as you have now. I wish I would have printed out the post, I think it was over at cyanogenmod forums.

    If you can't find it, let me know.

    EDIT: Nope it was here. A quick google search for "remap power key on droid" gave this thread as the top hit:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...oke-want-remap-camera-button.html#post1438731

    Note though that one poster found it wonky.

    good luck

    p.s., BEFORE you make this edit, make SURE you perform a nandroid backup FIRST!
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  3. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes the link teddy mentioned is just what I need.The power button broke shortly after my volume rocker on my Droid and I'm just not ready to let go of it,I love my Droid . I am rooted and have everything I need to remap to my camera button but it wont let me. When I get to / sholes-keypad.kl it wont let me open and says its not a valid PDF document. Can anyone tell me what I need to make it work! Thanks
  4. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Hi nunnya. For editing this and many other files used on our android phones, notepad++ is a very valuable tool. It is free software and a google search for "notepad++" will take you right to it.

    good luck
  5. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Ted,once again your here to save me. I swear you should just make your own forum :)......anyways, I also seen your response in the android forums about the zip. You know how tech savy I am so maybe you can explain to me how to do that. I will also get notepad++ and check that out, but what version? Thanks again.
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  6. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    key 399 GRAVE
    key 2 1 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 3 2 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 4 3 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 5 4 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 6 5 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 7 6 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 8 7 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 9 8 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 10 9 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 11 0 WAKE_DROPPED
    key 158 BACK WAKE_DROPPED
    key 230 SOFT_RIGHT WAKE
    key 60 SOFT_RIGHT WAKE
    key 107 POWER WAKE_DROPPED
    key 62 ENDCALL WAKE_DROPPED
    key 229 MENU WAKE_DROPPED
    key 59 MENU WAKE_DROPPED
    key 139 MENU WAKE_DROPPED
    key 217 SEARCH WAKE_DROPPED
    key 228 POUND WAKE_DROPPED
    key 227 STAR
    key 231 CALL WAKE_DROPPED
    key 61 CALL WAKE_DROPPED
    key 232 DPAD_CENTER WAKE_DROPPED
    key 108 DPAD_DOWN WAKE_DROPPED
    key 103 DPAD_UP WAKE_DROPPED
    key 102 HOME WAKE
    key 105 DPAD_LEFT WAKE_DROPPED
    key 106 DPAD_RIGHT WAKE_DROPPED
    key 115 VOLUME_UP WAKE
    key 114 VOLUME_DOWN WAKE
    key 116 POWER WAKE
    key 211 FOCUS
    key 212 CAMERA

    key 16 Q WAKE_DROPPED
    key 17 W WAKE_DROPPED
    key 18 E WAKE_DROPPED
    key 19 R WAKE_DROPPED
    key 20 T WAKE_DROPPED
    key 21 Y WAKE_DROPPED
    key 22 U WAKE_DROPPED
    key 23 I WAKE_DROPPED
    key 24 O WAKE_DROPPED
    key 25 P WAKE_DROPPED
    key 26 LEFT_BRACKET WAKE_DROPPED
    key 27 RIGHT_BRACKET WAKE_DROPPED
    key 43 BACKSLASH WAKE_DROPPED

    key 30 A WAKE_DROPPED
    key 31 S WAKE_DROPPED
    key 32 D WAKE_DROPPED
    key 33 F WAKE_DROPPED
    key 34 G WAKE_DROPPED
    key 35 H WAKE_DROPPED
    key 36 J WAKE_DROPPED
    key 37 K WAKE_DROPPED
    key 38 L WAKE_DROPPED
    key 214 SEMICOLON WAKE_DROPPED
    key 40 APOSTROPHE WAKE_DROPPED
    key 14 DEL WAKE_DROPPED

    key 44 Z WAKE_DROPPED
    key 45 X WAKE_DROPPED
    key 46 C WAKE_DROPPED
    key 47 V WAKE_DROPPED
    key 48 B WAKE_DROPPED
    key 49 N WAKE_DROPPED
    key 50 M WAKE_DROPPED
    key 51 COMMA WAKE_DROPPED
    key 52 PERIOD WAKE_DROPPED
    key 53 SLASH WAKE_DROPPED
    key 28 ENTER WAKE_DROPPED

    key 56 ALT_LEFT WAKE
    key 100 ALT_RIGHT WAKE
    key 42 SHIFT_LEFT WAKE
    key 54 SHIFT_RIGHT WAKE
    key 15 TAB WAKE_DROPPED
    key 57 SPACE WAKE_DROPPED
    key 150 EXPLORER
    key 155 ENVELOPE

    key 12 MINUS WAKE_DROPPED
    key 13 EQUALS WAKE_DROPPED
    key 215 AT WAKE_DROPPED

    Everything is in 2 columns so I just wanna make sure I get this right.
    Power is in one column and wake in the other so when I change power wake (116)where do I put grave,in the first column and erase wake in the 2nd column?
    Change focus(211) to power wake, power in 1st column and wake in 2nd?
    and change camera (212) to power wake, power in 1st column and wake in 2nd?
    It would really be a bummer if I bricked my phone so I want to be certain.
  7. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh jeez after I posted that it doesn't look its in 2 columns but it us on my phone. So does it matter where I put it?
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2012
  8. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Hmmm, are you trying to edit the file on your phone? You don't really want to do that AFAIK. You'll want to make a copy of it off your phone, do the edit then replace the existing one on your phone. It does seem like you have the right idea, you are showing the whole file, and all you need to do is edit these lines:

    Code:
    key [COLOR=#006666]116[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] POWER WAKE 
    key [/COLOR][COLOR=#006666]211[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] FOCUS 
    key [/COLOR][COLOR=#006666]212[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] CAMERA[/COLOR]
    
    Changed them to:
    [COLOR=#000000]key [/COLOR][COLOR=#006666]116[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] GRAVE 
    key [/COLOR][COLOR=#006666]211[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] POWER WAKE 
    key [/COLOR][COLOR=#006666]212[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000] POWER WAKE[/COLOR]


    So when you get to the line where it says "key 116" replace "POWER WAKE" with "GRAVE", etc.

    BUT FIRST, do you have a custom recovery installed on your phone? You say it's rooted, but I think we should make sure you have a means to make a backup first, just in case.

    let me know.

    p.s. I _almost_ do have my own forum site, well my own site anyways, lol.
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2012
  9. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I'm using smanager to open /sholes- keypad.kl and opening as text right? It says I only have permission to read file and asks if I want to create a local copy and edit or open directly. When I hit create copy,smanager forces closes on me everytime and will only let me open directly , maybe get another file manager? Or do I want to open as script/ executable, if so then what?
    Or sounds like it might be easier to do it all from the computer ( well easy if you explain how lol)
    Oh and I did just do a backup a few days ago on my backup root b/c I did a factory reset, should I backup again?
  10. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe ill just do the zip. Can you explain it to me?
  11. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Yes, I think this would be best and easiest as well. And sorry, I only get thread reply notifications once a day, so my replies will be slow. That is because this is the slowest forum site in my world of all the various forums I visit in the whole world.

    Anyways, we need to make sure you have a custom recovery and if so which one. When you said you made a backup on your backup root, how did you do that? More specifically was it a nandroid backup? A nandroid backup is like setting a restore point on your pc, however it is done while your phone is booted into recovery.

    To manually boot your phone into recovery, slide open the keyboard with the phone off, then press and hold the 'x' key on the keyboard while you power the phone on. Then give me a description of what you see on the screen. It should be different than what you usually see. If it isn't try again.

    Now if your power button is broken, to turn your phone off, pull the battery for a few seconds, then replace it. Slide out the keyboard and hold the 'x' key and plug the power cord into your phone while keeping the 'x' key pressed until your phone powers all the way up. If it boots into your regular system, do it over as you might not have kept the 'x' key depressed fully.

    Let me know what you see, stock recovery is a triangle with a red cirle around it (or something like that, I haven't seem stock in years), custom recovery's will have text on the screen, if you get that tell me the color of the text and what it says at the very top.

    Whew. Hope that's enough detail and info for this part.
  12. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sigh ......I'm down to trying your zip Ted, nothing else seems to work for me. I've tried to change the lines from the computer and not straight from my phone like you said. Problem is when I hook up to the computer I have no idea what to do or how to do it. I got notepad++ and installed to the computer ( which I'm assuming I use from the computer ) and, well can't work that either.
    I know I'm really annoying with my stupid questions and I understand if you don't want to help anymore ( you've been a HUGE help thus far and I value your opinion ) but can u please tell me how to use your zip? I got a zip manager and unzipped with it from my phone, do I even need this ? If their is a helpful post or guide somewhere that you know of maybe you can point me in the right direction. I did read a lot, hoping to find something helpful so i didnt have to ask you.
  13. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well I will try. First off, try re-reading and answering my questions in the post just above yours. Second, you don't need a zip manager, you do not need to extract the file, in fact, don't do anything to it at all for now. Just leaave it where and as it is.
  14. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Omg your post was not there yesterday and now it is , I thought u jst got fed up me lol guess it is slow....k ill read and let u know thanks
  15. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well? Have you found out if you have stock recovery or which custom recovery you have? I'm trying to give you the steps slowly so as not to confuse you.
  16. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I'll start off saying that I accidentally unzipped your zip,should I re zip it?
    I backed up using my backup pro and went to backup applications and data.
    I've never done a nandroid backup.
    I definitely have a stock recovery ( white triangle with yellow explanation point around it )
    Thanks again for trying to help
  17. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ok, do not ry to re-zip the file just in case you make a mistake or accidently modified the contents before you re-zip it. Just go ahead and download it again and then put it on the sdcard of your phone.

    Next, the easiest way to get a custom recovery on your phone is to go to market (or play store) and download Rom Manager (free). Once it is installed, go ahead and open it. There will be a box that shows up asking about your device, use the "autodetect" option. It might ask for Superuser permissions right away or it might later. Whenever it does, just make sure the box that says "remember" or "don't ask again" is checked BEFORE you tap the "allow" button. Now the top will say "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery". Tap that. It will download and then flash a CWRecovery on your phone.

    Then come the good part. Go to "Install ROM from SD Card" and select it. It will bring up a directory listing. Find the .zip file and select it. A box will pop-up called "ROM Pre-Installation". Make sure "Backup Exixting ROM" is checked, and uncheck the other two. Then select the "OK" button and you should be good to go.

    It will boot into recovery, make a nandroid backup and then flash the .zip file, when it's all done it will reboot back into regular Android.

    good luck
  18. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok Ive had rom manager for awhile now but haven't really used it much.
    I understand what your saying but just have one question about the nandroid backup. So when it boots in recovery after flashing the zip will their be an option to make a nandroid backup and just select that? Also this is probably a stupid question but will this change my rom?
  19. NUNNYA
    Offline

    NUNNYA New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok NM, I see what your saying. I will flash it after it boots into recovery after I've made a nandroid backup right?
    sorry I always seem to make things more complicated than they need to be lol.
  20. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    The nice thing about using Rom Manager in conjunction with CWRecovery is that you tell rom manager what you want it to do and it does the rest for you. Just follow exactly the instructions I gave you, set your phone down and as I re-quoted part of my post above, it will all be done for you. When it boots into recovery it will already make a nandroid backup first, then flash the zip, then reboot. You do not have to do another thing. You do not have to do anything while it is in recovery. It will do it all for you if you follow the instructions I gave. The only change it will make to your current rom is the one to remap your power key. And just in case, that is why you backup your current rom as I told you in the instructions above, that is what a nandroid backup is, just like setting a restore point on your pc.

    good luck

    p.s., if you still have problems, send me a pm so we can continue this some other way. I am sick and tired of this site taking five farking minutes to load and/or crashing my browser altogether. As I said, I visit tons of forums sites and this is by far the slowest one of THEM ALL!
Search tags for this page
how do you turn a phone on if the power button is broken
,
how to turn a phone on if power button broke
,

how to turn on a phone if the power button is broken

,
how to turn on a phone with a broken power button
,
how to turn on android if power button is broken
,
how to turn on droid 4 with broken power button
,
how to turn on droid x when power button is broke
,
how to turn on my droid two if the power button is not worki
,
how to turn on my mortorola phon q if the power button broke
,

how to turn on your phone if the power button is broken

,
how to turn phone on if power button is broken
,
how to turn your phone on when the power button is broken
,
power button broken on droid 3
,
remap power button android no root
,

what to do if power button is broke on android phone