1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[HACKS] Add Wifi Toggle on your Verizon Galaxy S4

Discussion in 'Galaxy S4 Development' started by wicked, May 31, 2013.

  1. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I know most of you on Verizon's Galaxy S4 is upset that our devices doesn't have a Wifi toggle in quick settings pull down. Not really sure why big red did that... anyhow, thanks to XDA member bmtbandit, you can now add a Wifi toggle! :cool:

    All the credit goes to bmtbandit, all I did was post it here and added step by step screenshots to make it a little easier for those who haven't used SQLite Editor before. :D

    First, you must be rooted - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/sa...t/243165-how-root-your-verizon-galaxy-s4.html

    Then you need to download and install SQLite Editor - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.speedsoftware.sqleditor&hl=en

    Just a quick reminder: modding your device will void it's warranty and also, DroidForums.net or myself is not responsible if you break your phone while doing this mod. Please proceed at your own risk.

    **Like all mods, be sure to make a backup before proceeding just in case something goes wrong.

    If you like video tutorials, be sure to scroll down to the bottom of this thread and watch step by step video by our own DroidModderX!

    1. Open up SQLite Editor - Select the Apps tab on top and scroll down until you see Settings Storage and click it.

    [​IMG]


    2. Click on Ssettings.db

    [​IMG]


    3. Click on system

    [​IMG]


    4. Click on the search icon on top right

    [​IMG]


    5. Type in the word notification in the Filter Value field and click ok

    [​IMG]


    6. Once the results load up, tap on notification_panel_active_app_list (should be the bottom result) and click on the pencil icon on top to edit

    [​IMG]


    7. In the Value field, you'll see all your toggles listed. All you have to do is add the word Wifi <-- just like that with a semi colon right after. Make sure there's no space after the semi colon like in the screenshot below. Once you add Wifi, click the save button.

    [​IMG]


    8. Close SQLite editor and reboot your phone. Once your phone boots back up, you should now have the Wifi toggle in quick settings like mine below!

    [​IMG]



  2. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,000
    Likes Received:
    588
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Boom goes the dynamite. Good job man!!!
  3. bkdodger
    Offline

    bkdodger Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    461
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Good Stuff brotha!! Back at ya Verizon....
  4. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Thanks guys! Was really easy. :nerd:
  5. Darksthour
    Offline

    Darksthour New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Thanks great way to clean up my notifications. Now I just gotta figure out how to get rid of the annoying ongoing telling me to connect to wifi and we are good.
  6. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  7. lehthanis
    Offline

    lehthanis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to do this without having to pay for sqlite editor?

    Posted from my Galaxy S4 with Tapatalk.
  8. Tompon
    Offline

    Tompon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Other Toggles

    Do you know if you can add other toggles with the same process? If so, what would you have to add instead of "Wifi;"? Like I would love to add the Mobile HotSpot toggle, for instance.
    Thanks
    :biggrin:
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2013
  9. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Wifi;WiFiHotspot;AirGesture;

    make sure you make the capital letters capital or it won't work.
  10. Tompon
    Offline

    Tompon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks man! Is there some sort of documentation somewhere were you can look those up?
  11. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Yep, added hotspot to mine:

    [​IMG]
  12. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Here's a list

    [​IMG]
  13. tsiehta
    Offline

    tsiehta New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After selecting system I get an error stating "Ran ouf of memory while loading data." I have tried to filter and have rebooted phone, but nothing brings up list to actually filter for the notification. Has anyone else had this issue and found a solution?
  14. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    There's a couple of people having the same issue over at GalaxyS4Forums.net. Not sure exactly why this is happening...

    Hopefully we'll get a solution soon.

    ⇒ Tapatalked from my Galaxy S4 ⇐
  15. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Video added to OP!
  16. loudaccord
    Offline

    loudaccord New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same question... I feel kinda silly paying for an app that I'll use once to enable a toggle. Thanks!!
  17. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Anyone who's having the issue with SQLite editor try emailing the app dev? Maybe he can provide a fix...
  18. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Oh btw, when you add the Wifi toggle using SQLite Editor and start the hotpost using the toggle, it bypasses the Verizon check so you won't need to flash any other tether hacks...
  19. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
  20. wicked
    Offline

    wicked Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,981
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Strange... are you clicking on Save button?
Search tags for this page
galaxy s4 settings.db
,

galaxy s4 wifi calling verizon

,
galaxy s4 wifi icon
,
galaxy s4 wifi toggle sqlite
,
how to delete mobilehotspot on s4 verizon
,
how to enable wifi calling on verizon gs3
,
no wifi icon on s4
,

no wifi toggle on galaxy s4

,
note 3 how to add wifi hotspot to notification panel
,

s4 enable hotspot sq lite

,
s4 wifi calling verizon
,
verizon galaxy s4 wifi
,

wifi calling galaxy s4 verizon

,
wifi calling s4 verizon
,

wifi toggle s4