[HACKS] Add Wifi Toggle on your Verizon Galaxy S4

Discussion in 'Galaxy S4 Development' started by wicked, May 31, 2013.

  1. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    works great thanks to the op for this ! ... now, can i also add reboot or restart ?

    sent from android
     
  2. bac0n

    bac0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any way to add a Torch toggle with this?
     
  3. Graniteman

    Graniteman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works awesome

    Thank you, thank you. I've been trying to get the hot spot working for three days.
     
  4. wicked

    wicked Administrator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,313
    Likes Received:
    1,549
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Ratings:
    +1,751
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel 3 XL
    Twitter:
    @MikeAlvez
    You can try this 4 way reboot mod - http://www.droidforums.net/forum/sa...48-mod-4-1-reboot-menu-verizon-galaxy-s4.html

    I don't think there's a way to add Torch to the toggle list... I haven't come across one yet..

    You're welcome!
     
  5. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    perfect ... thanks again wicked

    sent from android
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Added wifi toggle, pretty weak how they didn't include it and that's not just because I'm used to ROMs on my old Nexus. Stock TouchWiz with root and a little modding is nice so far. Thanks for posting up the tutorial Wicked
     
  7. bryantjopplin

    bryantjopplin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    shreveport
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm liking it a lot too coming from the gnex

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,071
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Upgraded from the nexus myself. World of difference but a really good change. I'm really impressed what they did with TouchWiz or whatever they call it now.

    Some features are fun to show and some are real useful. Only thing I noticed is inconsistencies in Air View, especially with text messages. It really is hit or miss unless I'm doing something wrong.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  9. videogmike

    videogmike New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sqlite editor keeps force closing at launch on my vzw s4 :/
     
  10. wallytcw

    wallytcw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I believe this is relevant.

    I made the above modification a few months ago, and it has been working great ever since. Unfortunately, I got the last OTA update about a week ago (I said "Install later" several times, but I think it forced it on me eventually), and then I lost root - but the WiFiHotspot button still works.

    Now, I'm getting another update prompt for the 4.3 update. Has anybody with this mod updated to 4.3 OTA? Does it still work, and does it still bypass the Verizon tethering check?
     
  11. wallytcw

    wallytcw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just answered my own question. If you want to keep this button, do NOT update to 4.3. I did this:

    [GUIDE][Android 4.3] Update to VRUEMJ7 and Keep Root - xda-developers

    ...so I have root back, and 4.3, but no button. Settings.db (which requires disabling Knox to get into, thanks Samsung/Verizon) still has the WiFiHotspot string, but the button doesn't appear.

    Guess I'm off to start trying root hotspot apps.
     
  12. bryantjopplin

    bryantjopplin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    shreveport
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm on 4.3 and mine works.


    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

galaxy s4 wifi calling verizon

,
galaxy s4 wifi icon
,
galaxy s4 wifi toggle sqlite
,
how to delete mobilehotspot on s4 verizon
,

no wifi toggle on galaxy s4

,
s4 enable hotspot sq lite
,
s4 wifi calling verizon
,

wifi calling galaxy s4 verizon

,
wifi calling s4 verizon
,

wifi toggle s4