add wifi network

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by sawtooth, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. sawtooth

    sawtooth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to create a wifi network off my home computers wireless modem but I ran into a snag.
    I turned on wifi it indicated it was scanning. I touched "add wifi network, a window opened asking for SSID. What do I enter in this window?
    I have a verizon T-Bolt. My home computer is using a Link modum.
     
  2. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Welcome to DroidForums!! Was it still scanning when you hit "touch to add" or had it stopped when you did that?
     
  3. sawtooth

    sawtooth New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Creating a wifi network at home

    Yes it was still scanning like it was searching for something it couldn't find.
     
  4. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Strange, do you have issues connecting other things to your router or your phone to other networks?
     
  5. SFGate

    SFGate Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the site. dancedroid
     
  6. rubiksc00p

    rubiksc00p Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Ratings:
    +29
    How long had you let it search. Maybe it just wasn't finish. How for from the router were you?
    Also the ssid is your network name.

    Swyped and sent through the interwebz directly to you from somewhere and some device that doesn't concern you!