A really qwik Rom question

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid, Mar 22, 2010.

  1. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys I just wanted to know if you have to do a data wipe for every Rom?
     
  2. Erron

    Erron Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    You dont if you are staying on the same base usually. But you should anyway to avoid bugs. There's usually an update.zip accompanied for keeping data.
     
  3. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    By Base you mean 2.1, 2.0.1 right?
     
  4. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    You are correct sir.
     
  5. Erron

    Erron Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, and no. Usually that is safe. But the old droidmod was an ere25 base, and ultimatedroid was ese53..they dont play well together.

    My advice is spend the $4 get titanium advanced backup full. It will backup all data and apps. It's a must if youre going to flash roms often.
     
  6. IxMissxN'xLovexMyxDroid

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you! This site is absolutely amazing
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Interestingly, yesterday, i asked the same question to a Droid Ninja via a PM. He advised that unless I was having issues, I would be able to move from rom to rom (BB to SS to UD,BD) without doing a wipe. When I moved from a 2.0.1 to a 2.1 rom I had to wipe my sense is that moving from on 2.1 to another can be done without wiping.

    Mike
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I keep seeing Titanium mentioned as a backup app. What advantages does it provide that MyBackup does not?

    Mike
     
  9. jstafford1

    jstafford1 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,336
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,809
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    Technically yes you can move from ROM to ROM if all 2.1 or all 2.0.1 without wiping. But you may have issues. And as I prefer to not have issues I backup what I need and do a wipe every time. Never had an issue with wiping, have had some weird issues when I forgot to. Its up to you though.
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    That was my sense as well. Starting with a clean space seems to eliminate unnecessary issues.

    Mike
     
  11. Erron

    Erron Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't used mybackup to tell you. But I know titanium will restore all o your data. Which is nice. Playlists, settings, bookmars and all this. It will batch backup and restore. So it's pretty much one click restore when you throw a new rom on. It will even save your overclock settings!
     
  12. JRogers1978

    JRogers1978 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Fairhaven, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titanium will link your backed up apps to the market so they'll show up in Downloads. MyBackup does not so you wouldn't be able to get updates for them.