1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

A Concern

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by Googleaddict, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Hey all i saw a few leaks of the leaked froyo for the galaxy s and something caught my eye. There's only 304 mb of RAM?? I mean 2.1 atleast has 384 mb... What is samsung doing with all that extra RAM? Will the 304 mb cause the phone to be laggy and slow? This kinda makes me think about getting a fascinate next week.. Is it confirmed that the froyo build will come with 304 mb of ram? What do you guys think? Will this cause a performance decrease?
  2. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    where did you see this? only thing confirmed in the update is the google apps i think
  3. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    I saw it on some youtube vids. Its the leaked froyo build for the Captivate. So if their build has 304 mb i guess ours will too :S
  4. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    guess we won't know until we get it. but the fascinate is plenty fast already
  5. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I misunderstanding something? Every article and spec sheet I can find shoes 512MB RAM.

    I cant imagine Samsung releasing a phone with less, 512MB is pretty much the standard these days...

    Are you talking about the size of the update? Or the amount of physical memory (RAM)? I'm confused.
  6. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    You are correct that there's 512mb in the phone, but in 2.1 only 384 mb are free for users, the rest is used for the samsung ui i think. now in the froyo builds i've seen there's only 304 mb free to users.
  7. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it -- RAM is physical memory, which is different than the size of a software update.

    Typically in software programming, one of the tradespaces you have is size for speed. This means that often a developer will chose to make a software system larger in order to make it perform better, and vice versa.

    I expect Samsung is using this this extra space to both add features, and increase the performance of their software.
  8. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Hopefully you are right :D
Search tags for this page

android 304mb free 512

,

increase ram captivate

,

why does my galaxy s only show 384mb ram