1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

720p?

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by v941726, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. v941726
    Offline

    v941726 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought v2.3 had 720p.
  2. StDevious
    Offline

    StDevious New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dont think droid can do that
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    No. No D1 has a camera capable of that.

    Sent from my rooted A855.
  4. smtom
    Offline

    smtom New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The South
    Since FroYo, the Incredible and many other devices have had 720p capability.
    On this ROM, I'm in the same boat w/ you - no 720p.

    Not a biggie, just different.
  5. StDevious
    Offline

    StDevious New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    software doesn't determine a capability like 720p video recording which needs the right hardware
  6. rick620
    Offline

    rick620 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    d1 has the right hardware. Same camera as d2 ....
  7. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct but the D2 camera doesn't do 720p either..



    DroidForums junkie!
  8. rick620
    Offline

    rick620 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ha shame on me lol. Thought the d2 did. ...
  9. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would be nice!!



    DroidForums junkie!
  10. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    at our screen size and resolution would we even be able to tell it was 720p? Just asking,, I have no idea.
  11. rick620
    Offline

    rick620 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nah idea like to record in 720 just to to be able to watch a nice picture on big screen. I need to buy a mini camcorder but would rather have built in on phone.
  12. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,321
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, it would have to be 16:9 aspect ratio to display HD (720p, 1080i, or 1080p) properly.



    DroidForums junkie!
  13. audioman42
    Offline

    audioman42 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With only 480 horizontal pixels, we wouldn't see a difference on the Droid's screen.
  14. rick620
    Offline

    rick620 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Btw milestone 2 has 720p recording. Same camera as d1
  15. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Droid's screen is 16:9, in fact it's perfect 480p. So viewing 720p content on it would still look exactly like 480p. But it'd look great on the computer or TV.

    Also, the Droid tends to only want to play videos with a total bitrate of about 1600kbps or less. That's on the mid-to-low end of the spectrum for 480p quality, so that's another limitation against 720p playback.
  16. BUFFALOMADMAN
    Offline

    BUFFALOMADMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BUFFALO, NY
    Yea cause the droid X's camera is raw as hell. When I compare my Droid to the X its insane how clear it is and crisp it looks
  17. v941726
    Offline

    v941726 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the dinc can!
  18. v941726
    Offline

    v941726 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the dinc does. i should have made the title 720p for the dinc version.
  19. v941726
    Offline

    v941726 New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any newer tv can change aspect ratio's. the point is, us dinc owners paid for it and tv out and neither are available in this rom.
  20. The_Other_Ray
    Offline

    The_Other_Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just installed 2.4 for my Dinc and I lost the ability to record video at 720p. there is no setting for it. Anyone know of a fix?