3 big questions

BlackHoleSlam

Reaction score
hey guys i will be getting my first droid phone come this saturday sold my iphone 3g to get it i am getting a moto droid 1
1 okay first question my plan is not up i am buying this from a guy off craiglsist the question is when i go to Verizon to activate the phone will they charge me i have my env 3 right now and i am switching to the droid i know about the 30 a month unlimited data plan but will they charge me because i am dropping the env 3 and switching to the droid

2 my second question is i understand that rooting your phone lets you get full access to it but what is the point of custom roms i am not insulting them i just don't understand what they do

3 and finally why do some people not like 1 click tethering i saw hookbill's post about he hopes everyone stops 1 click rooting i didn't understand why because i am a noob when it comes to rooting android phones so if i use one click root its seems near impossible for me to brick my phone but if i do it the normal way i can see myself screwing everything up so plz help

DF Smod

Silver Member
Reaction score
First question, they will charge you the extra thirty a month, plus an activation fee to activate the new device, and that is it...no penalty for switching phones

Second, Custom ROMs have the potential to bring better speed and performance to your phone, plus settings and tweaks that are not available stock (like to be able to change system fonts right from the phone).

Third (and I am so glad you were listening) what hook was actually talking about is one click root (which is different from tethering) almost all of the Droid Forums Team will advise against this process, 9 times out of 10 people lose root capabilities and have to go back and do it the right way anyways

And Fourth...I know you didn't ask but I am going to tell you anyways, don't install Task Killers :)

here are a few links to read up on in the meantime