2.01 Update for the Milestone version?

Discussion in 'Motorola Milestone' started by xderia, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. xderia
    Offline

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello. Is there any way to install the update on the Milestone? Or is this only possible on the Driod?

    What is stopping it for installing it on the Milestone?

    Any ideas for making this work?
  2. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    RINTINTIGGER our European mod, has stated that if you install the update on the milestone you will no longer have access to the app marketplace.
  3. xderia
    Offline

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So it will install, the only drawback is the market?

    Did anyone try to install?

    What about using the market enabler application to solve this?

    I have the German version of the phone.
  4. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    That is the only yet confirme issue with the Milestone. I would advise you to NOT manually update, beacuase the update effects DROID apps wich even dont are on your Milestone. The worst case is that the updates is not finishing and your phone is bricked!

    I would highly recommend not to update yet.
  5. xderia
    Offline

    xderia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, thanks for the info. What backup program could back up the complete OS before giving this a try? Or is this not possible without rooting the phone?
  6. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    I have read and heard of no program that backups the hole OS. And i dont think there is, cuz its not for the motorola concept of handeling the phone.

    Never change a running system
  7. JMac_88
    Offline

    JMac_88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. nazgoul
    Offline

    nazgoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks for this info, I was just reading about the manual update and wanted to give it a try. How come there's such a huge difference ?
  9. nazgoul
    Offline

    nazgoul New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    -bump- Still have the question !
  10. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    I think the huge difference has its reason in the different OS versions. The US Boys dont have multitouch, we do. and there are a lot of other little things, that carriers and OS developers changed for the milestone, so that is why we have the difference!
  11. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    News on that one:

    Motorola has pointed out, that german update servers are going online at the end of dezember/start of january!

    Letz hope that they keep word on this!
  12. Unimaginative
    Offline

    Unimaginative New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orrstraliar
    Fingers-crossed/touch-wood the UK one will too (if they're separate)!
  13. kimasu
    Offline

    kimasu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all! I'm new to the forums and so far it looks like a really nice community.

    I've imported the unbranded german version of the Milestone to Sweden. Is it possible for me to manually install the 2.0.1 update when it is released? Or how do i do? It's not for sale here since "the customers don't want that american crap", as one carrier salesperson expressed himself, so i doubt there will be any possibility for OTA updates...
  14. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    I am pretty sure you can update, once the servers are online and the IMEI numbers are allowed!
  15. fox283
    Offline

    fox283 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and what about 2.1?2.01 is cool,but 2.1 is better:icon_ devil:
  16. Oohyeah
    Offline

    Oohyeah New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Waiting with bated breath! From what I understand, 2.01 will bring:

    - better (faster) performance in general
    - much longer battery life
    - camera fix

    Right? Any others?
  17. pajo
    Offline

    pajo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    Do anyone knows, would it be possible to update milestone in countries where it is not sold?

    does this update must be installed only by OTA update, or it can be donwloaded from android market and install it manually?

    thx
  18. Guja
    Offline

    Guja New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The camera fix is urgent. I'm sick and tired of not beeing able to use the google googles and the barcode scanner
  19. EmilF
    Offline

    EmilF New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As I understand it, the AF bug is date related. AF on my Milestone have not been working since I got it 22/12/2009. It's working great now. It should work for 24,5 days - then not work for the following 24,5 days :)

    According to this thread, the update is comming 13/01/2010: Motorola Milestone Update 2.0.1 Termin / Date | Goddchen 's Blog

    Could be false but the update should defenetly come in January.
  20. RinTinTigger
    Offline

    RinTinTigger Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,905
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Germany, Near Frankfurt/Main
    Well,

    after weh heard the nexus one live stream yesterday, they spoke of the DROID having 2.1 officially in january GUARANTEED, so it cant take long till they push it to the milestone as well i hope.

    guess in February or march.

    im even not sure anymore that they do the 2.0.1 step in between

    Tigger
Search tags for this page

is there a way ti update software om a milestone x2