Verizon Wireless Network Extender not working quite as well with Droid

M

Matth3w

Guest
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.
 
OP
M

Matth3w

Guest
It says -62dbm and 0 for the other if that makes sense.
 

itsluy

New Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
22
Reaction score
0
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.

I've got the same issue and so do a number of users on this thread.
 
OP
M

Matth3w

Guest
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.

I've got the same issue and so do a number of users on this thread.
I've got much worse problems now, too:

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/te...lp-no-one-can-understand-me-because-echo.html
 

STIDRIVER

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
Network extender works good for me... Sucks to hear your having issues :(
 

fLiP SiD3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago , Illinois
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.

I am glad I ran into this thread...I was just about to go buy a Verizon Signal Extender tomorrow. I still might try it , since there is a 30 day return policy and if it dont work for me , I will definetly post my results here for all to see
 

fLiP SiD3

Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2010
Messages
73
Reaction score
0
Location
Chicago , Illinois
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.

I forgot to ask.........is that a Verizon Signal Extender that you bought and are using ?
 
OP
M

Matth3w

Guest
Read the link I posted in #4...even with the supposed no signal it was working perfectly...before that. But it's probably a problem with my ISP not the NE.
 
OP
M

Matth3w

Guest
Calls are ever so slightly choppier now that I switched from my LG enV3 to the Droid. I live in an area that is supposedly covered fully by Verizon but no service in town really gets good service here (and no, I don't live in a valley, on the outskirts, or in the middle of nowhere).

So we bought a network extender and were initially pretty skeptical about it (think eBay antenna extenders) but to be honest it moved our phones from 0 bars and rarely able to make/stay on a call to full signal at all times (for voice not data).

I know it seems to be working because I hear the tone it makes when I start a call, but yet the reception/signal strength on my Droid is like one bar. I know that bars don't necessarily mean anything but when you are talking one bar with a simulated cell phone tower RIGHT next to the phone, there is no reason to have one bar.

I forgot to ask.........is that a Verizon Signal Extender that you bought and are using ?
Yes, the one for 250.
 

JhankG

Silver Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2009
Messages
3,073
Reaction score
0
Location
Summerfield, NC
I think I have read that the network extender is not necessarily going to show more bars even though it is improving signal strength.
 

STIDRIVER

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2010
Messages
496
Reaction score
0
^^ At least for me... I don't see a boost at all while not on a call. When you make or recieve a call, you hear a beep noise and then if you look you'll be at full bars. Verizon lady told me it should boost somewhat while not on a call as well, but I haven't seen it do that.
 
OP
M

Matth3w

Guest
It used to show full bars on my LG where without it didn't. So I know that it does this, but so long as you get the "doo do doot" tone before you make/answer a call, you are good to go. Assuming it works.
 

aaf709

Nice Guy
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
4,166
Reaction score
49
Location
So Cal
I think I have read that the network extender is not necessarily going to show more bars even though it is improving signal strength.

Right. I called the Customer Rep about that and he said that with the Droid it won't. It was the clearest call I had made on a cell too.

It used to show full bars on my LG where without it didn't. So I know that it does this, but so long as you get the "doo do doot" tone before you make/answer a call, you are good to go. Assuming it works.

Press #48 and you should get an voice repeatedly saying that you're under Network coverage.
 

brucin

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
236
Reaction score
3
Location
north jersey
Current Phone Model
Motorola X Pure
I have read that if you receive a weak signal from an external tower sometimes the NE will try to pass the phone off to that tower even though the signal is weaker. I use mine in a location where i have no signal from an external tower and my droid always has 4 bars.
 

Vulcan1600

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2009
Messages
5,745
Reaction score
307
Location
Pennsylvania
I have a crazy issue with my NE and Droid. I'm using the 2.1 Alarm and it displays Celsius, which is not a big deal, however, I live in eastern PA near Harrisburg. However, when I am under the NE at home, it says I'm in Washington, PA for the weather. I selected "Use My Location" in the setup. I am 250 miles from Washington, PA which is south of Pittsburgh. My area code is 724, which is a Pittsburgh area code, but does anyone know why the NE has me placed there and not where I really am located at? As soon as I leave my house it knows where I'm really at. This also affects Beautiful Widgets at home with the NE too.
 
Top