Spelling out puncuation

twilightandmist

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo
Hi all,
I am new to this, so bare with me. I have a Droid Turbo, and I use the talk to txt a lot. It is faster than typing. Well my phone always used to put in the punctuation......like if I said exclamation point at the end of a sentence, it would put a ! same with a comma, and period.
For the last few weeks it has stopped doing that and now spells out the words instead of inserting the punctuation marks. Can anyone shed any light on why this is happening all of a sudden? It is really a PIMA!!!

Thanks!

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
Welcome to the forum! I don't use speech-to-text a WHOLE lot, but I do use it on occasion. I just sent a Hangouts message using my voice and my Nexus 6P put in a . when I said "period." Like you said, it's always done that.

That's weird that it's writing the word out for you. Have you changed keyboards or changed any settings for your keyboard and/or in "Language & Input" in the main settings?

OP
twilightandmist

twilightandmist

Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo
I did change keyboards AFTER it started thinking maybe something was wrong with the one that came built in to my phone, and that worked for a bit then started locking up so I uninstalled it and went back to the one that was built in. Still same issue. I haven't changed any settings as far as I can tell, there doesn't appear to be much you can change.....

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7