Slow internet on D2

tacomaguy912

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Bought the Droid 2 brand new on black friday of this year. I am already on my second warranty replacement (refurb) due to loose screen/screen wobble issues. Ive had this one for a couple days and the internet is noticeably slower than that of my new D2 and even the 1st refurb. Did i just get the shaft or is there something i can do to boost the speed? And why is it slower?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
37
Any task killers installed? Are you using back or home to exit applications?

DroidForums Junkie!!
 
OP
T

tacomaguy912

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I have Advanced Task Killer installed. I use home to exit apps
 

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Location
orange county, ca
I have Advanced Task Killer installed. I use home to exit apps

You should do the opposite of both those things. Ditch the task killer and use the back button to exit apps. This signifies to the system that you are done with it and it will handle it in its own time.

tappin and a talkin
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
37
+100

I have Advanced Task Killer installed. I use home to exit apps

You should do the opposite of both those things. Ditch the task killer and use the back button to exit apps. This signifies to the system that you are done with it and it will handle it in its own time.

tappin and a talkin



DroidForums Junkie!!
 

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Location
orange county, ca
Also you mitt try an alternate browser. I have good experience with dolphin hd and it has options to clear cache and history on exit.

tappin and a talkin
 
OP
T

tacomaguy912

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
And whats all this im seeing about rooting phones and resetting abunch of stuff. Would any of this help? And how do i clean caches and cookies?
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
37
We'll tackle rooting later. Cookies are cleared in settings when your browser is open. Cache (unless you want to buy a $1 app) is done in Settings > Applications > Manage Applications and clicking on your apps.

And whats all this im seeing about rooting phones and resetting abunch of stuff. Would any of this help? And how do i clean caches and cookies?



DroidForums Junkie!!
 

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Joined
Sep 4, 2010
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Location
orange county, ca
We'll tackle rooting later. Cookies are cleared in settings when your browser is open. Cache (unless you want to buy a $1 app) is done in Settings > Applications > Manage Applications and clicking on your apps.

And whats all this im seeing about rooting phones and resetting abunch of stuff. Would any of this help? And how do i clean caches and cookies?



DroidForums Junkie!!

You can clear your browsers cache by hitting menu and then settings and scrolling down to clear cache.

tappin and a talkin
 

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
6,365
Reaction score
37
True! I was thinking the apps' cache. Carry on :)

We'll tackle rooting later. Cookies are cleared in settings when your browser is open. Cache (unless you want to buy a $1 app) is done in Settings > Applications > Manage Applications and clicking on your apps.

And whats all this im seeing about rooting phones and resetting abunch of stuff. Would any of this help? And how do i clean caches and cookies?



DroidForums Junkie!!

You can clear your browsers cache by hitting menu and then settings and scrolling down to clear cache.

tappin and a talkin



DroidForums Junkie!!
 
Top