Questions regarding overclocking...

eolastear

Reaction score
I am rather new to UC/OC, so please, all of you that aren't please be patient with me. That being said...

I have a Droid 2 running Froyo 2.2. I have successfully rooted my phone, already have a full Nandroid backup, and have Titanium Backup Pro backing up all of my applications. My interest is in underclocking to obtain better battery life. Almost all the posts I have found offer good information but didn't answer the question I had. So here it goes;

I downloaded SetCPU via the market and installed it with no problems. The app came up with the following settings by default;

Max = 1000000
Min = 300000

My question is this, is this the stock setting for the Droid 2 stock kernel already? Or is this setting just the default recommended by SetCPU? Does the Droid 2 already underclock in instances when the screen turns off and so on?

If the above is just a stock setting, what is a simple way for me to underclock my processor to preserve battery life. Nothing outlandish, just better than stock. If you know of apps and the appropriate settings, PLEASE, I would love you to share that information. Again, I am not looking for anything crazy, just slightly better efficiency.

Thanks in advance.

Sniper_5

Reaction score
There is a tab in the set CPU app that says profiles. Enable these and make a battery profile for every time you want the clock speed to lower. I.e. 60%= 8000-3000, 40% 6000-3000. Those don't have to be the exact settings but along those lines. If you'd like I can show you a pic of my profiles for a general idea. Remember though I'm on the D1 and I'm overclocked to 1ghz

Sent from my D1 on UD @ 1.2Ghz

OP
E

eolastear

Reaction score
If I am understanding you correctly, these settings imply that as battery life decreases, the CPU speed will decrease as well?