"Package File is Invalid"

captainobvious85

Reaction score
In the words of radio callers: "Long time reader, first time writer." I've been using Android since March of 2010 and I love my Moto Droid 1, but this recent problem is really pushing my patience.

I have a stock Motorola Droid 1 with Android Froyo version 2.2.2. I recently had to get a refurbished replacement phone from Verizon due to a glitch in my touchscreen. Since I started using the new phone, I've been getting an error message when I download most apps. The app will look like it downloads 100%, but then while installing, Android gives me the error message "Package file is invalid." I first saw the error when updating the Facebook app, but a re-download usually fixed the problem. The re-download was unable to fix my problem when I was recently trying to download and install "Hanging with Friends." I then factory reset my phone from Recovery Mode and wiped the partition cache. Managed to install "Hanging with Friends." Tonight my girlfriend saw that Geico commercial with the Guinea Pigs in the mini-row boat (Included the commercial at the bottom of my post if you wanted to see it) and wanted to see the associated app (They don't have a blackberry app and that is what she deserves for getting a Blackberry). Got the "Package file is invalid" message. Wiped the partition cache, no luck. Data Wipe/Factory Reset, no luck.

I've gone into recovery mode and wiped the partition cache, and I just did a data wipe and factory reset. Same problem still exists. I currently have no apps installed on the phone since the factory reset and all individual app caches are clear. Any ideas on how to solve this issue?

I've Googled this topic as much as possible, but most solutions seem to be for rooted phones.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions!
Chris

[video=youtube;VU6hmgTY76M]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VU6hmgTY76M[/video]

Last edited:

guidot

Developer Relations
Staff member
Premium Member