New and a few questions about APN and the bionic

William516

Reaction score
This is my first attempt to root a phone, so please stick with me. I'm on Verizon network on both 3g/4g signal.
It is my understanding that rooting the phone will wipe all the apn that are on it out causing that phone to be useless on any network until they are restored. I went onto the market and got the app that will back up and restore apns and then also viewed them in an office suite. It would appear that there are well over 35 sep. apn that were backed up.

Once the bionic is rooted do I then need to type all those apns back into the bionic or is there a way to restore the file or even drag and drop it into the systems folder. I'm really confused and most people say just call your provider and they will provide the settings for you. However knowing verizon they would then put it on file that i was rooting my phone and then deny me any support ever again. Verizon is a monster and loves to screw with you any way possible.

I also found the apn config file on the phone using a file explorer program and when I viewed that file there were even more apns even for providers for tmobile , atn&t etc. I assume that this is a stock file placed on the phone by motorola and not something by verizon.

Are APN settings stored on the sim card (Something i thought they did away with until this phone) and will rooting the phone do damage or erase anything on the sim card.

My final question is one that I have also seen mixed answers on the net for.
Can you create an image or backup of the phone just as it is when you get it from the store, so as to revert to that image. For example needing some type of support or sending the phone back. Rooting voids the warranty , but if i had a backup of the phone from the factory they would never know the difference. i know on a computer a ghost image can be created or cloned. I would think the same could be done on a phone, considering that it is now a computer.