Missing the Droid Notification Tone

HappyDroidUser

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I just got my Droid 2 and was shocked to find that it did not come with the Droid notification tone. Does any one know where I can get it from and how can I add it?

Thanks,

Cedj
 

Corinacakes

Super Moderator
Theme Developer
Joined
Nov 17, 2009
Messages
4,945
Reaction score
3
Location
Maine
Mabilo Ringtones in the market has it:D :welcome: to the forum!
 
OP
H

HappyDroidUser

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Thanks Corinacakes. I found an edited version with the classic phone ring tone but I can edit it for my use.

Cedj
 
OP
H

HappyDroidUser

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
you can also take it of another rom and put it on your sd card
Thanks Vstark. I'm a newbie. How would I proceed to get it from the rom? I also have the original Droid which has the tone.
 

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,372
Reaction score
9
Location
N.E. Ohio
you can also take it of another rom and put it on your sd card
Thanks Vstark. I'm a newbie. How would I proceed to get it from the rom? I also have the original Droid which has the tone.

Slow down, wait a second here. The Droid 2 does come with the Droid notification. Unless someone removed it, it's on there. Menu button/settings/sound/notification. The list scrolls, you're probably not seeing it.
 
OP
H

HappyDroidUser

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Thanks Hookbill. Its definitely not on my phone. I'll look to see if I can find it on the rom of my original Droid.
 

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2009
Messages
19,372
Reaction score
9
Location
N.E. Ohio
Thanks Hookbill. Its definitely not on my phone. I'll look to see if I can find it on the rom of my original Droid.

May I ask what you are currently running? I know that there is a leaked OS that doesn't have that file but you'd have to be rooted to get that.
 

pc747

Regular Member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Dec 23, 2009
Messages
25,492
Reaction score
6,918
Depending on what leak....I am running 3.0.0 and I have the droid tone. B the way the task manager in 3.0.0 works good. I was hesitant to try it when hook was talking about the battery life. Man I went an entire day with out charging. Oh and profiles....are useful its like having 21 home screens.....
 

me4droid

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2010
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
Not the D2G

Hookbill--D2 Global does not come with the standard "droooiiiiiddd" notification. It has some of the others, but not that one. The stock notification on the phone when purchased is the "On the Hunt" notification (at least that was set as the default on mine when I received it).

My guess is this post is about a D2 Global.
 

A Nobody

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2010
Messages
39
Reaction score
0
Hookbill--D2 Global does not come with the standard "droooiiiiiddd" notification. It has some of the others, but not that one. The stock notification on the phone when purchased is the "On the Hunt" notification (at least that was set as the default on mine when I received it).

My guess is this post is about a D2 Global.


Did you try checking ringtones in settings.
 

me4droid

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2010
Messages
58
Reaction score
0
A Nobody--nope it's not there either.

FYI-I purchased an R2D2 D2 and a D2G on the same day--D2G for me, other for my son.

R2D2 has over 30 notification sounds, D2G only 20
R2D2 has over 60 ringtone sounds, D2G only 32

Now maybe some of those are specific to R2D2, since I don't have a standard D2 to compare. Still, quite a difference, and while R2 has the droid notification, D2G does NOT have it.

For whatever reason they decided that business users wouldn't want all those other ringtones/notifications. While it's true most probably use vibrate most of the time, it's still fun to have the options.
 
Top