Lost voice mail inbox upon phone upgrade

MendedLogic

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
143
Reaction score
1
Location
PA
Hi,
Can someone help me figure out why I lost my VM when I upgraded from a Galaxy Nexus to the S5? Ive had the same mailbox since I opened my account with vzw 10 yrs ago its lasted thru all device upgrades but this one. I need to remedy this if at all possible I would like to keep my original mailbox

Thank you
 
OP
MendedLogic

MendedLogic

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
143
Reaction score
1
Location
PA
Dialing the number, in fact when you call my number it would normally take you to my 'already' set up vm but now it's saying it hasn't been set up yet.. I just want my old vm back this makes no sense since I've never had this issue upgrading prior phones on vzw
 

FoxKat

Premium Member
Premium Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
14,651
Reaction score
4,703
Location
Pennsylvania
Current Phone Model
Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
Yes, that certainly doesn't sound right. You didn't get a new phone number I'm assuming as that would be the obvious cause. Did you suspend the service at time of your upgrade or prior to? Did you have any kind of service interruption? Did you cancel your old contact and "reserve" the phone number, and then have it reassigned to the new contract (a method used by some Verizon dealers to bypass Verizon rules and get upgrades on lines that would otherwise suffer plan changes or the like)?
 

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
16,740
Reaction score
7,355
Location
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
Yes, that certainly doesn't sound right. You didn't get a new phone number I'm assuming as that would be the obvious cause. Did you suspend the service at time of your upgrade or prior to? Did you have any kind of service interruption? Did you cancel your old contact and "reserve" the phone number, and then have it reassigned to the new contract (a method used by some Verizon dealers to bypass Verizon rules and get upgrades on lines that would otherwise suffer plan changes or the like)?
All great questions. If the vzw network thinks the mailbox isn't setup, I get the feeling you're gonna have to speak with them to fully resolve this issue.
 
OP
MendedLogic

MendedLogic

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
143
Reaction score
1
Location
PA
I am on the grandfather plan of unlimited everything so upgrading is out if the question now, if I wish to keep that plan. So I have to purchase new phones out right (ouch) which I did and just switched my Sim card's. And there was no interruptions, none of what you asked with my number its been the same for 10 yrs. I just walked in with my Galaxy Nexus purchased the Galaxy S5 swapped Sim card's walked out lol
 

cr6

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
8,281
Reaction score
5,802
Location
NW Rocky Mtn region
Website
www.dronewolfmedia.com
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S7 Edge
Twitter
@dronewolfmedia
It has you do with the updated VoLTE and the latest 4.4.4 update. It screwed everybody's voicemail up....including my own. You'll have to go in and set it up again or call Verizon to have them do it so you don't lose any current voicemails. (I didn't lose any of mine...But just in case)
Also, if you paid full price for your S5 like we did so you could keep your unlimited, you should have been given a new SIM card. We weren't able to use the sim cards from our S3s, regardless of how we purchased our new device. I mean I'm sure they would have worked, but we were told our S5s required a new card. (We still have our unlimited of course)
Good luck!

S5 tap'n
 

Jonny Kansas

Administrator
Staff member
Rescue Squad
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
16,740
Reaction score
7,355
Location
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Website
www.google.com
Current Phone Model
Pixel XL
Twitter
jonny_ks
I am on the grandfather plan of unlimited everything so upgrading is out if the question now, if I wish to keep that plan. So I have to purchase new phones out right (ouch) which I did and just switched my Sim card's. And there was no interruptions, none of what you asked with my number its been the same for 10 yrs. I just walked in with my Galaxy Nexus purchased the Galaxy S5 swapped Sim card's walked out lol
That's crazy. Same line, same plan, same sim card should = same voicemail box. Like I said before, I think you're gonna have to call vzw on this one, unless someone else has a better idea, but the issue has to be on their end since they host the voicemail. Hopefully it's a simple fix, but I'm worried it won't be, at least as far as recovering messages you had saved. Never know til you try though.

UPDATE: See post above mine. Might get ya where you're trying to go!
 
Top