First time trying to install ROM..have questions.

newbie2droid2

Reaction score
Hello Experts:

I recently got a Droid 2 (running software 2.2), and successfully rooted it following instructions posted here. I used Z4root. I have also installed Droid2 Bootstrapper, and create Backup of the phone. I am enjoying my phone, and now want to try the next step..install a custom ROM. I want to install Squidly2.3.20.2 Rom (looks like that is the latest one).

Youtube/unlocker videos show that I can use bootstrapper (after saving the file on SD card, and in Bootstrapper, selecting install file from SD card-->use the zip file, not unzip it), and thats pretty much it.

I read squidly's official thread on this Rom (Link), but since I am a newbie to droid world, I still do not understand how to install this Rom. Can someone guide a newbie with step-by-step instructions?

Reading the thread, I dont know what this means:

Install through clockwork or rom manger --> what are these?

Post-install: - Using gscripts to install transitions causes you to lose contacts and sync to facebook it is more dependable using terminal /scripts.

Do I need to do this?

SCRIPTS

All my scripts are in terminal and also by Gscript now (thanks to Pinkventure for an awesome app).

If you do not get the all the scripts in gscripts,type gscripts in terminal to install them.

What does it do, or I even need to be concerned about it?

Sorry for what might seem like trivial questions to the experts here, but a newbie is scared to his life...

(I am submitting this thread in general ROM forums and also in squidly's forum, hoping to get a quick response.)

TIA.

spaz33g

Rescue Squad
Rescue Squad
Reaction score