Anyone successfully replace TBolt Digitizer and LCD?

Mbk

Android For Life
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
4,152
Reaction score
4
My daughter dropped her TBolt and cracked the digitizer glass and the LCD also cracked...so I ordered both parts off eBay and replaced them...however, upon reboot the screen looks great but the touch screen doesn't function correctly. The home keys at the bottom don't function and the touch screen works only intermittently...

Anyone have suggestions or ideas where it may be going wrong?
 
OP
Mbk

Mbk

Android For Life
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Joined
May 4, 2010
Messages
4,152
Reaction score
4
LOL... so I guess that means nobody??... bummers, guess gotta rebuild it a couple more times to see if I missed something. Might just be a bad digitizer and already did send email to the eBayer to see if he will send me another. Was just seeing if anyone ever had this happen and knew what it might be... thanks anyways.
 

DaleBin

New Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Digitizer replaced on Thunderbolt

Yes, I too have experienced the same problems. I bought a digitizer off Amazon, no luck. Bought one from Repair Universe and no luck. Menu buttons don't work (Home, Menu, Back, etc) and screen doesn't respond well or at all. Yes, I did reseat ribbon several times and tried everything else. I am about to send in to HTC.
 

Esk58

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Did you guys ever get this resolved? I'm interested to know what happened. I have a Thunderbolt with a cracked screen. I replaced the screen and the touch function is off. The menu buttons work but some parts of the touch screen dont work. I ended up replacing the digitizer as well thinking that would help but I still get the same result. I'm thinking there is an issue with the screen I purchased and not the digitizer. Any ideas?
 

Johnw

Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Did you guys ever get this resolved? I'm interested to know what happened. I have a Thunderbolt with a cracked screen. I replaced the screen and the touch function is off. The menu buttons work but some parts of the touch screen dont work. I ended up replacing the digitizer as well thinking that would help but I still get the same result. I'm thinking there is an issue with the screen I purchased and not the digitizer. Any ideas?

I would double check the ribbon cables that are attached on the side to the motherboard. One of them is for the digitizer and the other is for the LCD. Make sure the digitizer one is fully attached.

I just replaced my cracked screen with a digitizer/lcd combo for $70. It worked perfectly after install so I know it can be done...
 

rooster8d

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Same issue here

Let me know if you found a resolution because I am having the same problem.
Thanks
 

Jhen80

New Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Location
Tampa, Florida
It's sounds like you didn't transfer the strip on the back of the home keys

Sent from my Thunderbolt using DroidForums
 

rooster8d

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Update

I have tried 3 different digitizers and have had the same problem with all 3. The second digitizers touch response worked fine at first, but the menu buttons on the bottom did not. Eventually the whole digitizer was unresponsive. The 3rd digitizer worked for a few minutes and became completely unresponsive. I bought 3 different digitizers from three different merchants, which were all OEM parts. The funny thing, I installed the original cracked digitizer and it works fine. So, why can I install 3 brand new digitizers that fail, then install the old one and it works fine, other than it being cracked. Weird that there isn't a solution to this somewhere.
 

rooster8d

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure what you mean by, "the strip on the back of the home keys." Could you please elaborate? Thanks
 

rawkus

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure what you mean by, "the strip on the back of the home keys." Could you please elaborate? Thanks

rooster, the thunderbolt's come with a white film that sit on top of the lcd. im in the same boat as you but i have one last trick up my sleeve. I'll let you know if it works.
 

rooster8d

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
No solution

After receiving my fourth digitizer it worked. This leads me to believe that the TB replacement digitizers have a high failure rate. I will not be repairing anymore thunderbolts from now on.
 

rawkus

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
After receiving my fourth digitizer it worked. This leads me to believe that the TB replacement digitizers have a high failure rate. I will not be repairing anymore thunderbolts from now on.


I concur.
 

davebomba

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Just the Digitizer?

Are you replacing the Digitzer only? I've done this and keep running into the same problem as you. After looking around different forums, this is very common. The better way to go is to replace both the digitizer and lcd together. You can buy them already mated together so none of the padding/adhesive work is shaky. Is this what you're doing?
 

doc.alxander

New Member
Joined
May 18, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Did you try the cache?

I don't know where I heard of it but sometimes empty the dalvick cache helps resolves digitizer issues, but I can agree that you should just replace both at once to save time and issues.
 

eddiekeyton

Banned
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
754
Reaction score
54
Location
OHIO
Twitter
eddiekeyton
It could have been from many different things. Did you make sure that the digitizer wire wasnt in a bind. Use a q tip and a little alchohol and clean the ribbon where it connects. May have solved your issue. I have replaced 7 dfferent ones for friends and family. Worked everytime accept the last time and the alchohol and q tip procedure fixed the issue. Glad you have it fixed though.
 
Top