Another 3G on/off question

ntellya

Reaction score
I'm a newbie, and I've been looking for an answer to this question for a few days. I recently purchased a Droid 2, and I wanted to commit myself to the least amount possible, so I went with the smallest data plan. I have wifi at home, and in many of the places that I'll be using it. Correct me if I'm wrong, but wifi usage does not count toward the data plan. I may upgrade to the unlimited in the future. For now, I want to make sure that I don't get hit with huge data bills.
When I'm out of wifi range, I would like a simple app that turns the 3G off. I dialed the number to put the phone in test mode, so it no longer goes into 3g, but if I needed to get into 3g, I'm not sure that I could easily. It now says 1x, and still is updating frequently with email alerts. BTW, what is 1x? Is that using up voice time?
Here's what I want:
for the default to be wifi. After that, I want the phone to not be seeking out anything data wise. I could put it in wifi mode and have it never go out, but won't that drain the battery by having it constantly seek for a signal?
Thanks for any assistance. This forum is an awesome resource!

jaw4bama

Reaction score
WiFi will not use your usage, and to answer your other question- I have a Droid X and in my settings I go to "Data Manager->Data Delivery->and click make sure Data Enable over mobile network is not checked" I remember that when I had the Droid 1, it was under the setting "Wireless and network "
Hope this helps!

Last edited:

mountaineerndixie

Reaction score
There are plenty of Data/APN widgets to quickly shut it off. My usage profile sounds identical to yours and I use the data widget included with Juice Defender but there are plenty stand alones. Search market for APN widget.

~ DroidForums.net App ~

OP
N

ntellya

Reaction score
Thank you