You have to pay for USB tethering correct?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by blaten22, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. blaten22
    Offline

    blaten22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Title says it all. Running eclipse 1.3, and was thinking of installing wired tether. I did click on USB tethering in the menu and it works, but produced no warning like the hotspot does.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  2. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
  3. TOMMYBOT
    Offline

    TOMMYBOT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    same no notification on the tethering. i think they finally made it free
     
  4. djspy
    Offline

    djspy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    Ratings:
    +14
    USB is free.
     
  5. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    I think it's only on LTE devices. I tried it out on a DX, and it redirected me.
     
  6. scottysize
    Offline

    scottysize Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sanger, TX
    Ratings:
    +97
    USB is free. Which sucks if you have a tablet like me.
     
  7. pinoy_92
    Offline

    pinoy_92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    nope
     
  8. GDP
    Offline

    GDP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I try it a window pops up saying I need to buy a mobile broadband plan

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  9. pinoy_92
    Offline

    pinoy_92 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    maybe cus your using a nexus :D JK!

    im not sure if it matters but are you using cdma or gsm?
     
  10. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    I think that's why it's free, though (or more correctly, why they don't seem to care about blocking it).

    Simply because it's not useful ENOUGH to create a seperate plan for. And without a plan, they can't charge. They are simply banking on people paying for the more versatile mobile hotspot feature.
     
  11. blaten22
    Offline

    blaten22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running cdma. I switched back to stock side and had the same results. Using sqlite editor, I checked the value, and its set as 0, just like eclipse. I get my bill in a few days, will post off If i get charged or not.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  12. Zandar
    Offline

    Zandar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    FoxFi. That is all.
     
Search tags for this page
do i have to pay for usb tethering
,

do you have to pay for usb tethering

,

droid razr usb tether free

,
droid x usb tethering
,
droid x usb tethering free
,
eclipse usb tethering
,
free usb tethering droid x
,

is usb tethering free on verizon

,
is usb tethering free verizon
,
verizon usb tethering