Would it be possible to dual-boot ROMS?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by Insidious, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm wondering if this is possible. Like to have the option to boot say cm7 or stock when your bootscreen shows up. My friend can dual-boot iOS and honeycomb on his iPhone so I'm wondering if that can happen on Apples security it surely could happen on Android. Or is it just a limitation of the OS/or kernel/bootloader?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +30
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X 2014
  3. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +4
  4. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +30
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X 2014
    Can't help you with that one, sorry. Read the thread that I posted and if you don't see any mention of the D2G, just post and ask! Sorry I couldn't be more help.
  5. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Lol its all good. Just didn't feel like signing in on the desktop version :b

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  6. Swirly
    Offline

    Swirly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    nvm....
  7. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Boot Manager doesnt officially support D2G but it still works very well with it. I use it all the time to swap.
  8. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    On Earf
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you don't mind me asking, which roms are you dualbooting? Make sure to include which one is your phone rom, for some reason I had no success getting boot manager to work on any two roms, and I was interested in this
  9. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    CM - phone rom
    ApeX
    Liberty

    Make sure to disable logging in SU otherwise you'll bootloop.
  10. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Good to know it works with the D2G. I love it for my X. I run CM7, Darkslide and Liberty 3
  11. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    On Earf
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which cyanogen mod?
  12. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    On Earf
    Ratings:
    +0

    Which cm are. You talking about? And how do I disable logging?
  13. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Revnumber's CM7 builds. And to disable logging, go to superuser and press the menu button. Then select settings. Scroll down to enable logging and unchecked it

    Boot Manager
  14. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    On Earf
    Ratings:
    +0
    But that doesnt make sense, because Apex and Liberty are Froyo ROM's and Revnumbers builds are now gingerbread, so are you talking about the old froyo builds? Because i tried Cyangoenmod 7.1.0 and got liberty to boot, even went back to cm after but got stuck in a boot loop in miui, really what i want to be able to do is, dual boot Cyanogenmod, Liquid, Miui and Stock. each of these roms have Gingerbread and Froyo releases. But like i said there are about a million and a half Cyanogenmod releases out there xD
  15. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +16
    Liberty v0.9, Liberty 3 and Apex 2.0 are GB. Only Gingerbread kernel ROMs will work with Boot Manager.

    Boot Manager
Search tags for this page
droid incredible dual boot
,
dual boot android roms
,

dual boot optimus 3d

,
dual boot roms droid dna
,
dual boot roms droid x
,
dual boot two android roms
,
htc dna multi boot
,

lg optimus 3d dual boot

,
optimus 3d dual boot
,
samsung fascinate dual boot