Would it be possible to dual-boot ROMS?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by Insidious, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm wondering if this is possible. Like to have the option to boot say cm7 or stock when your bootscreen shows up. My friend can dual-boot iOS and honeycomb on his iPhone so I'm wondering if that can happen on Apples security it surely could happen on Android. Or is it just a limitation of the OS/or kernel/bootloader?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  3. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
  4. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Can't help you with that one, sorry. Read the thread that I posted and if you don't see any mention of the D2G, just post and ask! Sorry I couldn't be more help.
  5. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Lol its all good. Just didn't feel like signing in on the desktop version :b

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  6. Swirly
    Offline

    Swirly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    nvm....
  7. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Boot Manager doesnt officially support D2G but it still works very well with it. I use it all the time to swap.
  8. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    If you don't mind me asking, which roms are you dualbooting? Make sure to include which one is your phone rom, for some reason I had no success getting boot manager to work on any two roms, and I was interested in this
  9. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    CM - phone rom
    ApeX
    Liberty

    Make sure to disable logging in SU otherwise you'll bootloop.
  10. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Good to know it works with the D2G. I love it for my X. I run CM7, Darkslide and Liberty 3
  11. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    Which cyanogen mod?
  12. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf

    Which cm are. You talking about? And how do I disable logging?
  13. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Revnumber's CM7 builds. And to disable logging, go to superuser and press the menu button. Then select settings. Scroll down to enable logging and unchecked it

    Boot Manager
  14. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    But that doesnt make sense, because Apex and Liberty are Froyo ROM's and Revnumbers builds are now gingerbread, so are you talking about the old froyo builds? Because i tried Cyangoenmod 7.1.0 and got liberty to boot, even went back to cm after but got stuck in a boot loop in miui, really what i want to be able to do is, dual boot Cyanogenmod, Liquid, Miui and Stock. each of these roms have Gingerbread and Froyo releases. But like i said there are about a million and a half Cyanogenmod releases out there xD
  15. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Liberty v0.9, Liberty 3 and Apex 2.0 are GB. Only Gingerbread kernel ROMs will work with Boot Manager.

    Boot Manager
  16. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    Yea i knew that, which is why i thought it was strange to find the gingerbread cyanogenmod release i tried telling me i need 2nd init, and the froyo kernel gingerbread base CM7.1 ROM allowing me to actually boot into liberty and go back, although liberty had no radio and was buggy as hell xD. Which build is the most stable build as of now, i hear that alot of the nightlys are very buggy, PS i have bought rom manager premium so maybe thatll make it easier. And also does rom manager actually select which roms it shows in the list by which clockwork mod you install, because i know the only way to get cwm to work on gingerbread is to use the droid x 2nd init release and when i go to that wouldnt it show droid x roms which when flashed would likely end in a sbf?

    THanks for all the help. Sorry for jacking the thread.
  17. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Well, Liberty isn't officially supported for the D2G, so that's probably why you issues.

    I can't comment on which build is stable on the D2G, but I have used most Revnumbers CM7 builds on the X and haven't really had any issues. It is dependent on which Clockwork you flash, but you don't want to flash a DX recovery since it will only show you DX ROMs. Best bet would be to go to go to Revnumbers website or go to Rootzwiki for the builds

    Boot Manager
  18. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    K thanks again
  19. 13th angel
    Offline

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    RevNumbers CM nighlies
    Apex 2.0 RC4
    Liberty 3.0 RC1.2 (ported myself and fully functional)

    All gb based. You have to use CM as the phone rom then load the others afterwards. You can't swap between gb/froyo.... and yes, liberty isn't supported so you have to manually port it.....

    Sent from my D2G
  20. Timmer1992
    Offline

    Timmer1992 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On Earf
    Any tutorials on learning ROM porting? Im interested in starting to develop but never actually knew where to start
Search tags for this page
droid incredible dual boot
,
dual boot android roms
,

dual boot optimus 3d

,
dual boot roms droid dna
,
dual boot roms droid x
,
dual boot two android roms
,
htc dna multi boot
,

lg optimus 3d dual boot

,
optimus 3d dual boot
,
samsung fascinate dual boot