1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

wont root after ota .181

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by Dark_Angel, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. Dark_Angel
    Offline

    Dark_Angel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i received the newest ota .181 update this morning and i went to root it again and for some reason it wont. ive done everything the same as last time so i dont know whats going on. i get nothing but "unable to ...." messages every time i try. help would be appreciated
  2. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Couple of questions: What method are you using to root, are you using the usb cable that came with your phone and do you have voodoo root keeper installed?
  3. droidx38
    Offline

    droidx38 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having same issue. I rooted using utility in the sticky, also installed voodoos rootkeeper. All was flawless till the ota update installed. Tried using rootkeeper...no go....tried unrooting.....no go.....tried rerooting.....no go. Not sure what direction to take next.
  4. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    I'm not sure what to tell you because I don't use root keeper. With the utility it so easy to go back to stock, update and then root (for now anyway). I think I read a similar thread over in the Razr Hacks section regarding root keeper. You may want to go there to see if you can find an answer or maybe someone more familiar with root keeper will chime in here and help you guys out. As a last resort you can use the utility to return to stock .173, take the OTA update again and then root. The utility will root .181.
  5. droidx38
    Offline

    droidx38 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, I was hoping not to have to do that but if thats what it takes.........these dang ota updates suck! LOL!!
  6. droidx38
    Offline

    droidx38 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, can't explain why but after trying to reroot half a dozen times or more this afternoon I gave up and went fishing for a few hours. Came back, hooked up the usb cable to go ahead and restore back to factory because I knew that would work, but instead I tried the utility again to reroot and IT WORKED! Can't tell you why it did it, but it did and wifi is working fine again. dancedroiddancedroid
  7. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Ain't life great...glad things worked out for you.
  8. droidx38
    Offline

    droidx38 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sometimes it's better to be lucky than good! :yeahbaby01:
  9. csbilmar
    Offline

    csbilmar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the same issue. I was not using root keeper, and my first root was Motofail. I got the OTA and updated, and lost root. However, I still have superuser. I cannot uninstall superuser, but I also do not have root access and Superuser is not being granted permissions. I tried rerooting with Utility, Motofail, and another one that I cannot remember the name of. Nothing worked. I then factory reset, and still ended up having Superuser, but no root. I tried rerooting with Utility, and still nothing. Help?
  10. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Well, I don't know what's causing your problem but if I were you this is what I'd do...Use Matt G's RazrUtility found in the first sticky above...download it to my computer...extract it to a folder on my hard drive...select the .bat file, connect my phone and execute option 1 in the utility. That will take your phone back to stock .173. From there you can get the OTA to .181 from Verizon and then root again using the utility.
  11. voltjerk
    Offline

    voltjerk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Razr was rooted on .173. I used Matt G's RazrUtility to restore back to stock .173. I did the OTA update to .181. Everything worked fine. I then used Matt's utility to root the new update. Worked for me. I guess the right thing is to really be on the stock .173.
  12. Dark_Angel
    Offline

    Dark_Angel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so after following http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-hacks/198379-updated-droid-razr-utility-windows.htmland reverting back to .173 i tried rooting again, nothing happened. starting looking around on my desktop and i noticed i had 2 run.bat files for rooting, how they got there im not quite sure. one (run) worked and the other one (runme) did not.

    all is well and rooted.....but my battery life is poor after going through the reset, and i dont know why. i use to be able to make it 8hrs on my idle smart action and have 80-90% with moderate use, now ill be lucky to have more than 60%. im wondering if something was changed or if its just the update. help would be greatly appreciated
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  13. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Seems the most reliable thing to do is root while on 173, back it up and hide it with Voodoo, then update to 181 and restore root in Voodoo. I did that today, went without a hitch... all with using the Razr Utility tools.

    It seems like there are mixed results right now trying to root after already going to 181.

    I had to do the restore because I stupidly uninstalled system apps with Titanium without backing them up, and today I started getting the OTA nag screen but could not install the update because I couldn't get back to pure stock.
  14. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX

    I also have noticed my battery life not being as good as it used to be before update. Not as severe as you though lol.

    As far as rooting i was having trouble updating so i had to revert to complete stock .173 no root/update/then root again using the updated 1.51 utility as Voodoo just wasn't working for me what so ever (most likely something i wasn't doing correctly).
Search tags for this page

mattg's razr utility download

,
root droid razr matt g