.183 OTA update install keeps failing on Droid RAZR

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by ktraub, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. ktraub
    Offline

    ktraub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    .181 OTA update install keeps failing on Droid RAZR

    Hello All,
    Can anyone help me please? I finally got the .181 OTA update this morning but it keeps failing to install.
    The download finishes and my phone reboots but it appears that the 'unpack' gets about 1/3 of the way through and then the phone reboots again.
    I was rooted, but I temporarily unrooted with Voodoo OTA rootkeeper. Also, I had used Ti backup to freeze some apps, but I unfrooze all of them before checking for the update.
    I have not removed any apps.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    -Kev
     
  2. subsynth
    Offline

    subsynth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in the same boat.

    I was stock, rooted. Nothing frozen, nothing removed. I tried Voodoo RootKeeper, didn't work.

    I removed Root all together with the Droid Razr Utility (which I rooted with originally)

    Still get update failed. I've uninstalled Root apps, SU, etc.

    I saw this on XDA, but I only have the one logwrapper file in my system/bin folder, so I don't know if this would apply or not.
     
  3. DocsDad
    Offline

    DocsDad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was stock and the .181 update was successful on the first go around. Hope it gets worked out for you.

    Any other success or failures out there?
     
  4. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,558
    Likes Received:
    300
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +314
    I was rooted with APPS frozen so knowing this was coming out I unfroze everything a few days ago. Today (I mentioned this is another thread) I accidently did the OTA without backing up my ROOT access. The update still went through just fine but I lost root, however I used the Razr Utility in the hacks sections and re-rooted my phone no problems.

    If you are failing it seems your system is not at the point it should be for an upgrade. Are you sure there are not frozen apps sitting there, can you make a filter for frozen apps and make sure none come up?

    If you are still having problems you might need to do a fastboot with the Razr Utility in the hacks section and then update from there. You are currently on the .173 right?
     
  5. subsynth
    Offline

    subsynth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, I'm .173. I didn't freeze anything. Now I'm going to have to re-root to make sure and start over I guess.
     
  6. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    neptune
    Ratings:
    +42
    I found this in my log...

    " Verifying current system...
    failed to stat "/system/app/VZWIM.apk": No such file or directory
    file "/system/app/VZWIM.apk" doesn't have any of expected sha1 sums; checking cache
    failed to stat "/cache/saved.file": No such file or directory
    failed to stat "/data/saved.file": No such file or directory
    failed to load cache file
    script aborted: assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/app/VZWIM.apk", "42c79537fd1c731d331368bee41923e8e6c20c71", "67b41ea216f98d59e6acba7ad92ad7108f667412")
    assert failed: apply_patch_check("/system/app/VZWIM.apk", "42c79537fd1c731d331368bee41923e8e6c20c71", "67b41ea216f98d59e6acba7ad92ad7108f667412")
    E:Error in /cache/Blur_Version.6.12.173.XT912.Verizon.en.US.zip
    (Status 7)
    Installation aborted."

    Cache/recovery /last log


    Can't figure out why its failed, the vzmim. Apk was renamed to (.bak) .
    I navigate to the file and click as to instal and get the "parsing" error.

    Edit : lmfao @ :) those weren't there

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
     
  7. Thach
    Offline

    Thach Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grand Forks North Dakota
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you are not able to update, there is something that is not right with your system. Something is still froze or uninstalled. If you have checked and nothing is froze or missing but still having issues updating, I would suggest fastbooting to 173 and then trying again.
     
  8. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    neptune
    Ratings:
    +42
    That's in my plans tonight...

    ----posted maxx'ed out----
     
  9. jviper6000
    Offline

    jviper6000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude I am in the same exact boat to the T. I would like to update but it is failing............dancedroid
     
  10. subsynth
    Offline

    subsynth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had tweaked my build.prop and that was the issue, all I did was change the wifiscan interval. That's it. Failed every time. I had to use the Droid Razr Utility to downgrade / wipe and start from scratch.
     
  11. Logan3824
    Offline

    Logan3824 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I was lucky? I have many apps frozen and yet I was still able to install the update....Wicked. :blink:
     
  12. jviper6000
    Offline

    jviper6000 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    :byepalm:
    Yup that's exactly what i did! I used rom toolbox and changed the build prop for the wifi scan interval.....okay so now I
    know why I can't update next thing to do is fast boot back to stock : ( but I need to check out how to that! Lol well wish me luck.
     
  13. Eusibius2
    Offline

    Eusibius2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in the same boat.... Any way to use rom toolbox to reset your build.prop file??

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx
     
  14. x25064
    Offline

    x25064 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can't update myself. Nothing tweaked, stock rooted.

    Used voodoo to keep root and tried a temp unroot. Everything is defrosted, I am completely stumped.
     
  15. kcamp04
    Offline

    kcamp04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
Search tags for this page
droid raxz utility
,

droid razr ota update fail

,
expected sha1 sums
,
ota doesn't have any of expected sha1 sums
,
ota update failed droid razr
,
razr ota failed
,
rooted droid razr update fail
,
why does my droid razr fail to update
,
why does my systens updates fail to download on my droid raz
,
why my razr update keep failing