Wireless Tether help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by m1ghtysauc3, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. m1ghtysauc3

    m1ghtysauc3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canton, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    My D2 is rooted and I'm running GummJar and all that. I really wanna be able to use wireless tether. I have looked at all kinds of tutorials on how to use it but no matter what I do, it doesn't work. I turn it on and under "download" it only says 0.4 kb. I know that's not right and of course no devices can pick up a signal. Any clue what the deal is?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,737
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +240
    Have you tried "Barnacle?"
     
  3. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Barnacle has been more reliable for me....
     
  4. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Tried changing the channel?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Im having trouble with wireless tether as well. My connection keeps dropping every minute or so and I always have to stop tethering and then start it again.

    Sent from Droid Incredible via Droidforums app
     
  6. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Barnacle. Been running them both for a LONG time. Barnacle seems more reliable to me. D1 and X. Ad hock channels? If it is crazy ad hock over there, but unlikely unless several ad hocks are running in your air.
     
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I installed Barnacle and I can't even connect to it...

    running Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit.
     
  8. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot that PC and then boot that droid, then connect
     
  9. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,034
    Likes Received:
    1,471
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,629
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Tried, doesn't even connect. It shows a connection but with the Triangular Warning symbol.

    Wireless Tether works on and off for me...keeps disconnecting at random time though (so far 5 minutes with no problems)
     
  10. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    That means you are hooked bro! That symbol is gold with barnacle. Just open a browser and run.
     
  11. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Just means client connected
     
  12. Johnly

    Johnly Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure your IP is on barnacles client list, easy.
     
Search tags for this page

whats a good channel for barnacle wifi tether

,

which channel to use with barnacle wifi tether