Windshield car mount

struong57

Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone has had problems with a windshield car mount for your motorola droid?

I am contemplating between the windshield mount or the cigarette lighter mount.

I have heard horror stories of the car vent mounts being too flimsy or the clips being too large for their car.

The sand bags just seem like my droid would be too far to access so I have disqualified that too.

I am not too excited about having to give up one of my two cigarette lighters, although this seems to be ideal for mounting the droid in a close and easily accessible location.

My concern with the windshield mount is the suction cup device failing resulting in a dropped and damaged droid. I have never used a windshield mount before and wanted to get some feedback from those with experience from Garmins, Maggelans, etc...

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. :)

RichStevenson

Reaction score
I've only had the windshield mount for a couple weeks, but no problems thus far. It's still very secure. It also comes with a plastic disc that adheres to your dash and the suction cup attaches to that, if you want to go that route. I've never used the vent mounts because it just doesn't seem that it would stay in place securely.

OP
S

struong57

Reaction score
The reason I am concerned with the lack of adhessiveness with the windshield suction cup is because I plan on removing it and transferring it from car to car. whereas most people would leave the mount suctioned to their windshield, right?

lockman

Reaction score
So far so good with moving it between my van and car almost every day. Seems preety solid. As good as my tomtom's cup. You should be fine.

OP
S

struong57

Reaction score
ok. thanks for your input.

My next question is, how do you get a car charger cable long enough to go from the lower center of your dash to the lower left corner of your windshield?

RyanS2000

Reaction score