1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

windows 7 wont mount

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by dawgintn, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. dawgintn
    Offline

    dawgintn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    got a buddy who is having problems getting his droid to mount to windows 7. He has talked to verizon who then sent him to motorola. Motorola saids the droid wont work on windows 7. I used 7 and my droids mounts prefect, he has tried to download the drives for it but cant get it to work. can anybody please help

    Thanks
  2. BavarianBuilt
    Offline

    BavarianBuilt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    My droid mounts to Windows 7 perfectly too. After he plugs it into the computer, is he selecting the mount option on his droid?
  3. dverplank
    Offline

    dverplank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows 7 takes a Loooooooooong time to install device drivers for the droid the 1st time
  4. dawgintn
    Offline

    dawgintn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i may should he was doing that. He been trying since friday to get it to work. i dont know
  5. MM1 Payne (US Navy)
    Offline

    MM1 Payne (US Navy) New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida.
    Weird, my windows seven works fine with Mounting my device..
  6. wickedkae
    Offline

    wickedkae New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine works fine on 7. Only problem I have is that if i unmount it and want to remount it i have to pull the physical usb cable out and replug it in. For some reason it wont remount unless I do this.

    Otherwise windows 7 works just fine with droid.
  7. mattygabe
    Offline

    mattygabe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd imagine at least half of you are using the 64-bit version of Win7, correct?
  8. dawgintn
    Offline

    dawgintn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes If we cant get it figure out my tomorrow he going back to verizon. I dont know what it could be.
  9. korky122
    Offline

    korky122 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uhh no. installed rather quickly
  10. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    No problems mounting on Windows 7, and did not notice it taking any time to install drivers.
  11. ryguy5254
    Offline

    ryguy5254 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problems with 84 (or 86, or 32) windows 7 on my desktop, nor my windows 7 64 laptop.
  12. mclarryjr
    Offline

    mclarryjr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't had any problem with my windows 7 and droid. Are you trying to mount the sdcard or are you using adb?
  13. streetkid
    Offline

    streetkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try and mount his droid on your win7?
  14. dawgintn
    Offline

    dawgintn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    we may try that. the problem is he lives 45 mins away, so we haven't had time to hook up and try yet. I told him to go over one of his closer buddies and see if it will mount to somebody elses computer, just to see if it is his phone or not.
  15. mike_kauble
    Offline

    mike_kauble New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have literally 3 comps running W7 and it mounts on all of them. Sorry. I did need to install the driver from Motorola's site in order to get some of the advanced link-ups to work.
  16. angryunibrow
    Offline

    angryunibrow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Win 7 64bit here also

    Plugged in my phone the day I got it, mounted and all was good.

    You have something wrong with your phone, or your Win 7 installation is causing an issue.

    Edit: no installation of any drivers either from Motorola's website.
  17. ashkev843
    Offline

    ashkev843 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  18. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    I use windows 7 home premium 64 bit and have never had an issue. Also, the drivers loaded right away the first time so the "takes forever on windows 7" statement is not true.
    There should be no need for additional drivers. Assuming this person knows what they are doing, it sounds like a conflict. When they plug it in and select mount, have the gone into administrative tools and then to computer management and on to disk management? This will list all attached drives and including the Droid. If it is listed there then you probably have a conflict somewhere. If he has a multiport card reader etc there sometimes can be drive letter issues although windows 7 does not typically have this issue.
    If it was a clean install vs upgrade then I doubt it is a windows 7 issue.
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2010
  19. dhuism2
    Offline

    dhuism2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you upgraded from another OS instead of a clean install, then you're probably having the same problems that I have been having.

    I posted a workaround in the tech support forum though.
  20. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Do any of you have a netbook? Like an HP mini or anything? Cause I was wondering how hard it would be to run a dual boot of like Ubuntu and Windows....
Search tags for this page

droid 4 drives do not mount windows 7

,

samsung phone wont mount to windows 7