WiFi.. it's cost

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by Grnzoom, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. Grnzoom

    Grnzoom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I got my X the guys at Verizon said I could use it as a HotSpot. Well, today I found out you have sign up and pay for the service for you X to be used as a HopSpot.
    Has anyone else been mislead?
    Nick
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root your X and you can do the same thing for free. Head over to droidxforums.com for a step by step on how to do this.
     
  3. BigE"s DROID

    BigE"s DROID Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try this....works great for me and you dont need root.
    1. Make phone discoverable

    2. Open bluetooth devices in windows -> Add a device.

    3. click on the phone that pops up.

    4. click ok that the PIN numbers match.

    5. Give it a minute to install the drivers, Don't worry if there's still an exclamation point in a triangle. It will still work.

    6. Right click on the phone in the windows BT devices panel.

    7. Select Connect as -> Access Point.

    8. You are now online.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2010
  4. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Damn !! They told you it was free? That is misleading.
     
  5. FireDroid

    FireDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bet this is on you, It has been all over the place that the teather was going to cost $20 a month. It is on the site and in literature everywhere. They were right, you can use your x as a mobile hotspot, you just have to pay to do it!

    Better research next time maybe??
     
  6. Grnzoom

    Grnzoom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They said I had it...like I had it... cost wasn't mentioned.
     
  7. ChugIt

    ChugIt Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root, problem solved. Otherwise you will have to pay extra unfortunately. It sucks they didn't mention it costs money. Either they meant to mislead you or they were ignorant. Either one of those possibilities are probable.
     
  8. Eolly

    Eolly Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do have it.
    Did you ask if it cost extra?
    This sounds so familiar of oh they said it was there but I didnt ask how much.
     
  9. ffej89

    ffej89 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Either they meant to mislead you or they were ignorant. Either one of those possibilities are probable.[/QUOTE]

    LOL so true!
     
  10. wrathletik

    wrathletik New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what means does the droid x use to enable the mobile hotspot and how does verizon track it??

    bc we can tether via bluetooth and also through rooting (i think?), and as far as i know, these 2 methods wont charge extra
     
  11. titans1

    titans1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    they wont charge extra for now....but when they see your usage they will get ya. dont thik they dont track your data usage.
     
  12. Freedoom

    Freedoom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The App that enables it by default on the phone tracks it and because of the rooting you can install apps that access the firmware ability to create a wifi hot spot.
     
  13. Humpa

    Humpa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dallas
    Ratings:
    +0
    They will not "turn on" the $20month tethering package because they think you are using it. They will only turn it on if you have them turn it on. Go ahead and try it, it won't work because you haven't turned it on (though mine works for some reason, even though it isn't on My Account). Also, the phone/app doesn't track the usage, Verizon would track the usage.

    Using wifi tether by rooting or whatever is going to be just like it has been. Verizon seems to leave us alone. No one has posted about extra charges or threats or cancellations, at least not that I've seen in a while, and I've never seen it with an Android device yet.
     
  14. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I disagree, you looked over what they were or were not charging you for correct? You made an assumption that it was included, that's on ou.

    Long before this came out it was stated everywhere that by using the built in tether hotspot that it had costs from VZ and how to get around it.

    Another new post omin online flaming bout something they do not want to take responibility for. Meh.

    Pay it or root and get wi fi tether, but I call, this is all you. Your options have now been given on how to proceed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  15. rskap67

    rskap67 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried it. Didn't work for me.
     
Search tags for this page
cost of droid verizon hot spot
,
cost of verizon hotspot service on moto x
,

does it cost money to use wifi on android?

,
does using a wifi hotspot incurre charges
,
does wifi cost money on droid
,
droid hotspot verizon price
,
droid mini hotspot does it cost anything
,
how much is a droid hotspot for internet pric3e
,
is galaxy s4 verizon hotspot free
,

verizon droid hotspot cost