Why does Ipod/Iphone work with Yahoo Mail and not the Droid???

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by daveyman, Dec 15, 2009.

  1. daveyman
    Offline

    daveyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Hi guys, I have had this phone for about a month and I love the phone but my only gripe would be that I can't get it to sync with my yahoo mail!!! I can hook up my mail to my ipod touch and works well with my brothers Iphone but y can't it work with my droid?? I don't have the yahoo plus account if that helps at all.
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,885
    Likes Received:
    624
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    There has been a fix for Yahoo email if I recall. If not there are manual directions as how to activate your Yahoo mail account on your Droid.

    please use the search
  3. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. daveyman
    Offline

    daveyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    tried the manual steps and it still does not work
  5. Tony07737
    Offline

    Tony07737 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middletown, NJ
    I found this on the Verizon web site and it works for me most of the time. Unfortunetly I have to reset the phone about once a day after I get a connection error.

    Go to manual setup > IMAP account and change to these settings....


    Imap server - imap.mail.yahoo.com

    (SMTP server will be on the next page)

    SMTP Server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com

    MAKE SURE YOU HAVE WIFI DISABLED


    Yahoo Email On Droid - Verizon | Forums and Blogs - Verizon Community
    Tony
  6. daveyman
    Offline

    daveyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal

    I have the wifi disabled and still says usernam password incorrect and that too i made sure was the correct username and password.
    thanks again for those who have been helping me with this.
  7. Daywalker
    Offline

    Daywalker New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works on mine
  8. jetnc
    Offline

    jetnc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    It's been working on mine ever since I got the phone (day after release). But, I have noticed that I don't get update notifications if I have the "Awake Stay" app running. This is the app that negates the slide lock. It sounds like you're not setting up your account correctly:
    Incoming
    Username- everything before @yahoo.com (don't put the @yahoo.com part in)
    Password-
    IMAP server-imap.mail.yahoo.com
    Port- 143
    Security- None

    Outgoing
    SMTP server- smtp.mobile.mail.yahoo.com
    Port- 587
    Security- None
    Require sign in- Checked
    Username- everything before @yahoo.com (don't put the @yahoo.com part in)
    Password-

    thats it!
  9. daveyman
    Offline

    daveyman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal

    tried it and still doesn't let me get out of the imap incoming setup, it still says username password incorrect but i am plugging in the correct username and password.:icon_cussing::icon_cussing:
  10. keepaddingink
    Offline

    keepaddingink New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is happening to me too. I've had Yahoo sync'd since I got the phone on Dec 7. Yesterday I changed my password, around 11am, and set it up on the droid and everything was still working (had an email pop up at 530pm). I've gone through and reset everything but it still says my username and password are invalid.

    The only thing left for me to try is uninstalling/reinstalling the account.
  11. Wolfwise
    Offline

    Wolfwise New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does not work either and I've used same settings. Retry it daily with no sucess
  12. djtrype
    Offline

    djtrype New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Hmmmmm, I wonder why one competitor wouldn't make it easy for another competitor to use their service on the other's device? It's called capitalistic competition...we should be used to it.

    By the way, mine works just fine with my Droid.
  13. fmserc
    Offline

    fmserc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is the exact fix i used, that worked.
  14. jetnc
    Offline

    jetnc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Cool!

    Not sure why the other people can't get it. Maybe they should go by a verizon store and ask for help there.
  15. bdr25
    Offline

    bdr25 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the droid, now i got yahoo mail to work. you have to imap it, youtube how to get yahoo mail on the droid and theres a video on how to. but someone told me the other day that google is going to put a block on it, and the only way to get ur mail up is buying the yahoo mail plus or w/e its called, its 20 bucks a month if someone can confirm that it would be helpful
  16. LtJustice
    Offline

    LtJustice New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm seeing it offered at $20 for a year. With that being said, as of right now the work around works for me. :woot:
  17. Trever1t
    Offline

    Trever1t New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    I used the youtube video to guide me, works without problem here too.
  18. joegrind
    Offline

    joegrind New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Phandroid did it, works great for me/

    Maybe a Mod can put this under a how-to sticky?

  19. ultratiger89
    Offline

    ultratiger89 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    maybe it's because Yahoo is a competitor?
  20. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a follow up question, First, I have two yahoo emails that I use, can I set up both? Also, one is actually a ymail.com account. Do I set up the settings any differently for that?
Search tags for this page

bdr25 google

,

how does yahoomail app work

,

iphone and droid share yahoo mail account

,

mail jetnc.com loc:us