1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

What is the size of the background/wallpaper?

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by KuddlKat, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I'm trying to make a new Photoshop template for the DROID³.

    Thanks. :)
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,221
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Looking at the system dump for the D3, the default wallpaper is 1080x960.
  3. Raptor007
    Offline

    Raptor007 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    That is a good question, because I am trying to use wallpapers in that size range by selecting them in settings, wallpapers, section and what I forced to do is select a space in the wallpaper and then it focuses on that. The D3 is NOT actually allowing the full wallpaper to fit.
  4. evulhotdog
    Offline

    evulhotdog New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No phone will allow the full background to fit, the way the home screen is laid out, unless you want black boxes on top and bottom -_-
  5. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I looked this up some time back and I found that the width needed to be something like 3 times the screen width. Perhaps longer if you have more screens. The height certainly needs to be the height of the screen.
  6. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I looked this up some time back and I found that the width needed to be something like 3 times the screen width. Perhaps longer if you have more screens. The height certainly needs to be the height of the screen.
  7. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    On the D1, the width is only twice the screen width. I thought it was 3x also, but sliding left or right only moves the wallpaper partially. The more screens you have, the less the wallpaper moves because the wallpaper size is fixed.

    So, I'm going to play around with this to see if it is accurate. I swiped someone else's 540x960 (WxH) screen capture and plopped it down in the middle of a 1080x960 wallpaper (from a system dump of the media area). The numbers seem to work.

    I don't have a screen capture of a stock D3 home screen yet, but when I get it I'll make it into a Photoshop template so people can use it for making backgrounds.
  8. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Knowing that the screen is qHD means that it should be a quarter of 1920 x 1080 which gives us 960 x 540 where 960 is the height and 540 is the width.

    I just did a test with some wallpapers I have on my D1 that now has 5 homescreens and it still appears to be twice the width. Each extreme (homescreen 1 and homescreen 5) show exactly half of the wallpaper shown on homescreen 3.

    Doubling that width gets us our 1080 so 1080 x 960 definitely makes sense, at least from a theory point of view. :)

    KuddlKat, my D3 should arrive on Wednesday and I do some development so I'll need to set it up there which will let me get screen grabs. It's possible I could grab you one as soon as Friday.
  9. vbhokiefan
    Offline

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Here's the one I made up. It works perfect with my 5 screen Go Launcher setup.

    The top horizontal line is how far Beautiful widgets comes down, the bottom horizontal line accounts for the dock.

    The vertical lines obviously show the home screen area.

    *edit* - the file is too big, let me condense it and I'll post it.

    *edit/edit* So I can't get it below the acceptable range, so I changed the extension to .zip. Just download the file, and rename it from .zip to .psd
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2011
  10. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  11. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
  12. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    It's not public. We can't see it.
  13. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Sorry it put them in a new album with no viewing permissions. Try this one.

    https://picasaweb.google.com/106862...hkey=Gv1sRgCPfzh9fayvHYYg#5637502368982493554
  14. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Screenshot size is not the same as wallpaper size..
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2011
  15. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    That worked great. Can I ask one more favor though? Can you make the background a solid color and take another screen capture? It will make it easier to remove the background and keep the icons and whatever else will overlay a user's picture.

    Thanks! :icon_ banana:
  16. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Right. I'm trying to make a Photoshop template so anyone can drop their own image in and see how it will look with the left and right sides cut off and where icons and top/bottom bars will overlay it.

    Once they like how it looks, you just hide the template layer and save the background image.

    I just needed a generic screen grab with some standard icons on it to make the overlay layer.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2011
  17. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You got it. Like I said, you're saying me a lot of time from having to do a template myself (although I still might if I'm bored this weekend haha)

    I tried to use a color that shouldn't conflict with any icons or any UI elements. HEX code is #290238. Hopefully that works for you.

    https://picasaweb.google.com/106862...hkey=Gv1sRgCPfzh9fayvHYYg#5637808251433037986
  18. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I don't know if I'm being ignorant, but what is the point of that?


    EDIT: I can make a template of 1080 x 960 insert any high res image (resize and center) and have a HQ wallpaper.. what exactly are you trying to do??? If you want a single screen preview with the stock (blur) launcher divide the total width by 5. (i think)
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2011
  19. The_Rick_14
    Offline

    The_Rick_14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The point is to be able to preview which parts of the wallpaper can potentially be cut-off by objects on the screen (Notification Bar, App Tray, Homescreen Icons) when aligning the wallpaper.

    It's very helpful if the design you're going for is a "shelf" effect for homescreen icons to not have to put the wallpaper on the phone to see how it all lines up. And that's just one example where having a template that's accurate is helpful to have.

    You can copy a single screen grab and duplicate it side by side to get the full 1080 x 960 template.
  20. KuddlKat
    Offline

    KuddlKat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    DROID³ Photoshop Template

    Thanks, TR14. Since PSDs have a limit of 19.5Kb and the template I made is 1.4Mb, I'll toss it onto my own site. If anyone wants to put it elsewhere, feel free.

    Template covers full left, center, and full right screen previews. Just make the associated layer visible.

    http://kuddlkat.com/DROID/DROID3_template.psd
Search tags for this page
droid 3 wallpaper dimensions
,

droid 3 wallpaper resolution

,

droid 3 wallpaper size

,
droid 4 wallpaper size
,
droid dna background size
,
droid dna wallpaper size
,
how do i view full 1080x960 wallpaper android
,
motorola droid 3 wallpaper size
,
motorola droid 4 wallpaper size
,
motorola droid razr m wallpaper photoshop template
,
motorola razr m wallpaper size
,
resolution of droid 3 wall paper
,
size of droid 3 wallpaper
,
wallpaper size for droid 3
,
what size wallpaper for droid