1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

What do I need to do to use the Thunderbolt overseas?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by rtb, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. rtb
    Offline

    rtb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone tell me what I need to do to use my phone overseas? I'm
    going to Japan and Europe. Do I need Verizon to unlock the phone?
    Someone said it requires the Ice Cream Sandwich update but I
    don't know? Thanks for the help.
  2. Sherry
    Offline

    Sherry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Great Smoky Mountains NC
  3. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Yes, Sherry's idea will be much more affordable by a lot!! If you had a phone with ICS that now allows you to use a foreign prepaid sim (although Verizon would rather people not be aware of that possibility) but without ICS, there are many things you can do to use your phone without incurring any charges.

    See post #3 on the thread below. It is what we did to set up my son's phone for his 6 week semester in Venice. We were able to communicate & text via wifi and not one single extra charge from Verizon.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-general-discussions/209635-going-mexico-city-help.html

    Enjoy your trip!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  4. geoff5093
    Offline

    geoff5093 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    The Thunderbolt doesn't have GSM radios, so it will only work if the country supports CDMA (I'm not sure if Japan does, I know Europe doesn't).
  5. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Geoff, read the post above yours and go to that link. Lots of ideas to use your phone over seas on wifi and not have to worry about extra charges.

    Edit: Nevermind, I misread your post.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  6. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A giant antenna or satalite would be nice! Lol
Search tags for this page

can htc thunderbolt be used in europe

,

can i use my htc thunderbolt in europe

,

can i use my thunderbolt in europe

,
can verizon thunderbolt be used in europe
,

can you unlock htc thunderbolt verizon

,

can you use htc thunderbolt overseas

,
does htc thunderbolt work in europe
,

does the htc thunderbolt work in europe

,
how to unlock verizon thunderbolt for use overseas
,

htc thunderbolt overseas

,

htc thunderbolt work in europe

,

unlock htc thunderbolt

,

using verizon htc thunderbolt in europe

,
verizon thunderbolt in europe
,

will my htc thunderbolt work in europe