What...am I doing wrong?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by thelion, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. thelion

    thelion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I (finally) have some time tonight and thought...hmmm...let's root this badboy, no?

    So, I find the Rom I want. I do my backup, I rename the file "update.zip" (no, it is not update.zip.zip).

    I go to install and get told

    "E:can’t open /sdcard/update.zip"

    So, I redownload the file, make sure it is in the right location and try again.

    "E:can’t open /sdcard/update.zip"

    What the sam hill!? Any ideas?

    No, I'm not on a mac.
     
    #1 thelion, Jul 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2010
  2. FrostMan

    FrostMan Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    What recovery are you on? I assume SPRecovery since you are renaming it to update.zip. You are placing the file on the root of your sd card correct, ie not in any folder but on top directory.
     
    #2 FrostMan, Jul 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2010
  3. thelion

    thelion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are correct on both counts. I am trying again for good measure. Third times the charm, right?
     
  4. mentaloaf

    mentaloaf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you rooted yet? I think just because you have sprecovery flashed doesn't mean you have root, and you can't just take any rom and rename it and flash it if you aren't rooted yet. Sorry if I'm wrong but at the beginning of your post it sounds like you got some free time so you'd like to root your phone, but then you say "find the rom I want, etc..." But did you put the superuser file on the root of your sd card yet? Can't do any of this if you haven't done that..
     
    #4 mentaloaf, Jul 4, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 4, 2010
  5. cb3FSU

    cb3FSU Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    also could be a bad file. Ive spent hours looking for reason why my installation failed when all I had to do was find a working file.
     
  6. neubanks89

    neubanks89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what rom are you trying to flash and from whom?
     
  7. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    give us some more info on how you rooted your phone. Did you flash a 2.0.1 SBF recovery with RSD lite? If not then how did you root? Do you have a superuser ninja in your app drawer to indicate that you do have root? Are you sure the ROM you downloaded was a full ROM and not just a skin? (prob wouldn't matter cuz even if it wasnt a full ROM it would still have ran the update.zip)
    Are you sure the specific ROM you are using needs to be installed via SPRecovery? maybe they want you to use clockworkmod to install the ROM.
     
  8. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Check the latest PM re a backup!
     
  9. thelion

    thelion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks :) Done. It seems my tech ability ends at being able to download an entire file. Either that or I got distracted and didn't realize it never quite completed.

    Don't blame me. It is the 4th. That counts as an excuse, right?