"Video Cannot Be Played" ???

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by Wraith, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. Wraith

    Wraith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since going to Sapphire 1.0 I have noticed this issue. Video runs for about 20-30 seconds, shows it loaded way past that, but then just stops with a window stating "Video Cannot Be Played" (or something close to that). Been bugging me for a while, did a quick search here and don't see much.


    Any ideas?
     
  2. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +254
    Is this with You Tube?
     
  3. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    I can get YouTube to work but if anyone posts a video to Facebook or sends me a video, I can hear it but no pictures play. Anyone got any ideas??? Its the same on hubby's phone as well.
     
  4. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Liverpool, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are we sure this is a ROM specific bug?

    -Mike
     
  5. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    For me it only started when I flashed 1.0 (on both mine and hubby's phone). Prior to that they were working just fine.
     
  6. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,119
    Likes Received:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +254
    Huh, never noticed this - then again I've only watched you tube videos ...
     
  7. Wraith

    Wraith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if I noticed this on YouTube or not...I don't watch too much of those, this is on various other videos on the web I have seen. The last video was off of a gaming site for DC Universe Online.

    The video format is obviously OK, as it plays and loads. And, after some research, I did find some similar issues with video in older posts whereby you can click on the video again and it will play....so possibly a download/queue issue. Sometimes I have to click 4 or 5 times to get it to continue playing, but even that usually fails.

    Almost any video I watch has this problem, and don't recall seeing this before. I will try and capture the exact error message and post here, as others have stated slightly different error message, on other threads here.

    After a few weeks of this, finally decided to post....
     
  8. JediSaber

    JediSaber New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this problem as soon as I upgraded to FRG01b (Before I even rooted). Video starts to play then stops & error message. Video worked fine before upgrade. Other videos seems to work fine. I was wondering if it has something to do with frame rates. Haven't tried switching rates...yet.
     
  9. eryck22

    eryck22 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this issue with mp4 vids, i never had an issue until recently. I am using UD5 i was on UD7 thinking it was the upgrade however the issue exists in UD5. I tried installing various types of video players to no avail. I have a vid of my son taking his first steps and i can't view it on my phone. I get a lot of droid doesn't comments. I know this has worked before...not sure the issue.
     
  10. Invader DJ

    Invader DJ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this problem playing video through the YouTube app. Tried a couple of different videos, so pretty sure it is affecting all YouTube video for me. Didn't try it on Wi-Fi or using HD though, so still need to do some testing. The same YouTube videos played fine in Flash though...
     
  11. RW-1

    RW-1 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I play utube fine, however anything from facebook gives me the error message, I get no sound or video. This is either from the app, or from the site.
     
  12. AuroEdge

    AuroEdge Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Opencore does not play well with mobile youtube. Either apply the stagefright patch or wait for the next Sapphire release; it will have stagefright re-enabled.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Jages16
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,132
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid this video cannot be played
,

droid video cannot be played

,
i get a message saying sorry this video can not be played on
,
my droid razr keeps saying sorry, this video cannot be playe
,
samsung phone sorry this video cannot be played
,
sorry this video cannot be played droid frame
,
video cannot be played droid razr
,
video cannot be played droid razr maxx
,
video stops and says sorry video cannot be played droid razr maxx
,
what is the error sorry this video cannot be played on droid