Cannot Play Video

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by red22769, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. red22769

    red22769 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just recently noticed that I cannot play any of the video clips I have saved on my Driod.

    Used to play all with no issues.
    Now I get the following error message:

    Cannot Play Video
    Sorry, this video cannot be played

    Can someone help me figure out what happened? and get it fixed?

    Thanks
     
  2. bigthinker

    bigthinker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe you need an update? If you are not able to get it fixed, I would take it in.
     
  3. dr0idg0d23

    dr0idg0d23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +5
    Try rebooting the phone. If that doesn't work if your rooted try running fix permissions in your rom settings or if not a feature of the rom you can use rommanager then reboot again. If that still doesn't work then reboot into recovery and clear cache ( you can also use cache mate from the market*rooted phones only*). If that doesn't work then back up all apps with either astro file manager or titanium backup and then do a factory data reset. If that still does not work then smash your phone with a hammer (DISCLAIMER:I am not responsible if you actually smash your phone with a hammer). Take it to verizon after unrooting if necessary.
     
  4. OSX2000

    OSX2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Let me guess, the last time the videos worked was before the Froyo update? If so, Stagefright (Android's new A/V decoder) is to blame.

    Are you rooted? If so, it can be fixed.
     
  5. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have not see a thread about this specific issue, so im looking for help. i had the blur camera installed. pics work fine. i can record video, but then when i go to play it, i get :Cannot Play Video. Sorry, this video cannot be played
    youtube, older videos i recorded, etc, all work fine. i even changed the ones i recorded from .3gp to .mp4 and tried. no luck. so i removed the blur camera, installed the aosp one, and when i click record the camera force closes.
    i have altered the framework for a theme of my own, and also messed with the build.prop, but i havent messed with any camera/resolution/recording settings.

    any ideas??

    i spent so much time themeing the framework that i really dont want to reinstall liberty, but i guess thats my only option left to try
     
  6. Ubermicro13

    Ubermicro13 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can pull the framework and then after you reinstall just push it back.
     
  7. Shelooga

    Shelooga Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flyers Country
    Ratings:
    +0
    i know i just wanted to avoid reflashing. i did fix the problem, although im not 100% sure how. first, i downloaded a new camcorder program. it worked. so i removed the camera app, removed the downloaded camera app, removed root explorer, redownloaded the blur camera from liberty, redownloaded root explorer, and it works. no idea why, but it does so im happy.
    pizza time!
     
  8. tas914

    tas914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I try to play a video posted on a friend's Facebook page, I almost always get the error "Sorry, cannot play this video".

    Anyone know how to fix this?

    Thanks.

    Tom
     
  9. NickWBurns

    NickWBurns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using the facebook app or using the browser to look at it?

    Sent through a bolt of thunder?
     
  10. tas914

    tas914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using the Facebook app.
     
  11. NickWBurns

    NickWBurns Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm I'm not sure, thought maybe if you were using the browser that could've caused, it but mine works fine using the app so I don't know the deal.

    Sent through a bolt of thunder?
     
Search tags for this page
htc liberty video cannot be played
,

sorry cannot play video