Verizon and AT&T Plan to Allow Cross-Carrier VoLTE Calls

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Nov 4, 2014.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    [​IMG]

    AT&T and Verizon plan to make cross-carrier VoLTE calls possible between their two networks. Is anyone really surprised by this when you think about it? One, it would be asinine to not make this possible considering that people need to be able to connect to others regardless of which carrier they are on. This is especially important considering that both networks see a future where all calls are VoLTE. Two, since VoLTE will use your data line instead of a cellular network it will eventually allow either carrier to charge overage fees for data phone calls. Regardless of the reasons for doing it, the two companies are working it out.

    Here's a quote from Verizon's press release,

    Source: Verizon
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,354
    Likes Received:
    5,877
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,707
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    That's good news. Thanks for the heads up Mr Storm!

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. TatDroid

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +199
    It's really the only way VoLTE could ever be successful. The only way my call will use VoLTE is if the person I'm calling has it, too. So if Verizon VoLTE calls could only happen between Verizon customers, or AT&T calls between their customers, a huge portion of phone calls would not be on VoLTE networks. Obviously that's not going to work for the carriers. They would like all calls to be over VoLTE, and not be dependent on the service of the person you're calling.

    Sent from my Droid Turbo
     
    • Like Like x 3
  4. liftedplane

    liftedplane Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,168
    Likes Received:
    723
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +882
    scary thought, you've got unlimited minutes EXCEPT your phone doesn't use minutes.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    All the more reason to retain unlimited data...
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Just to clarify for everyone and to avoid confusion...

    Just because you're on VoLTE, and you initiate a call, even if you're in a 4G area you can still call 3G phones, 4G phones & land lines. VoLTE will apparently only work between two VoLTE phones in order to take advantage of the higher call quality, 6-way calling, etc. You will still be able to make the traditional cellular calls
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    Yep... I didn't include that in the article, but it's important to make a note of it. Still, both companies want their shiny new "data hungry" VoLTE feature to be something that everyone uses, so they needed to create this compatibility for it to be successful.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    I'm no expert, But I did stay at a holiday inn express last night :D. I thought I read previously that your "phone" calls would not use your "data".
     
  9. liftedplane

    liftedplane Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,168
    Likes Received:
    723
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +882
    keep in mind these key words

    for now...

    if big reds track record is ANY indication, they'll renege on that deal
     
  10. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,067
    Likes Received:
    893
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,029
    Here is a funny glitch somewhere between volte, LG and Verizon.
    For the past couple weeks Verizon can't figure out why my wife's LG g2 volte enabled phone can't initialize incoming calls from non Verizon customers. Let it be att, land line or voip phones when her phone rings and she answers it's silence on both ends. If she calls them back it connects without problems. This started happening after we enabled volte on her LG g2. My droid maxx on other hand doesn't experience same problem and it too is volte enabled. We currently have a trouble ticket open with tier 3 network engineers that are stumped about it. Go figure.
     
  11. TatDroid

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +199
    Just to avoid panic, it's important to note the word "eventually". Verizon has made it clear that currently all VoLTE calls will be recorded as cellular calls and NOT data usage. How and when that may change in the future is anyone's guess.
    EDIT: Sorry, didn't see the post above that already noted this!
    Sent from my Droid Turbo
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Rognish

    Rognish Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +109
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    rognish
    hmmm I have a co-worker who has a ip6 and he recently turned on the option that allows voice & data at the same time and he is burning through his data he is already at 7gb+ only 1/3 way through billing cycle.