Verizon activation question

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by TwoBuells, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. TwoBuells
    Offline

    TwoBuells New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Verizon activation question. I have a friend that is selling me a Droid 2. I have a Droid 1 with a two year contract. Can I turn off my Droid 1 and activate the Droid 2 (same number as Droid 1) without telling Verizon? do they have to know?
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Why not tell them? If the ESN is good won't matter.

    Sent from somewhere...
  3. BlackHoleSlam
    Offline

    BlackHoleSlam New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    toms river NJ
    U can no charge just call *228 and they will tell u how to do it

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, Verizon doesnt care what smartphone you're using, as long as the ESN is good and you have the data plan.
  5. etortiz99
    Offline

    etortiz99 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT, KS
    You can also activate through verizon website in your account.
  6. TwoBuells
    Offline

    TwoBuells New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  7. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,074
    Likes Received:
    134
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
  8. David526
    Offline

    David526 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you definitely can. Just power off your Droid 1, dial *228 from the Droid 2. It will ask you to enter the phone number you want to activate on the Droid 2. Type it in. It will then ask you for your account password. Type it in. It will play music for about 45 seconds while it activates. Voila! I just dis this last week and it took about 2 mins max, worked like a charm, and I didn't even have to bother with a rep.

    Sent from my Droid Incredible using Droid Forums App
  9. TwoBuells
    Offline

    TwoBuells New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Too cool. Thanks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App