Upgrade SD Card in DX?

toomuchrum

Reaction score
HI. I'm fairly new to the DX. I've 'rooted', applied the tethering, and recently upgraded the ROM to APEX 1.4.1. I'm learning!!!

My question is. I'm running the pre-installed SD card that came with my DX. I recently purchased a larger card (16GB) that I want to install, BUT ... I don't want to loose any of the data/apps/etc that are on the original card. Is there a way to 'clone' the factory card over to the card that I will be installing? I do have a home PC with a SD card slot. If anyone knows of a tutorial or a step by step for cloning a DX SD card, it would be a great help!

Thanks!

qman66

Reaction score
if u dont have a lot of things installed like less than 6gb u can transfer it to the root of the phone and then put the new card in and move it back. the root directory is /data

OP
T

toomuchrum

Reaction score
Ok, is there an easy way to do that? I'm fairly sure I have enough room on the DX built in memory. I have 'Astro' file manager installed. Is there a way to do it with that or is there a better way/app to move all from SD to phone memory?

Thanks.

nerdslogic

Silver Member
Reaction score
You know they have 32gb cards right?

I am lost here....I have 16GB cards in both my D1 and D2.....why do you have to "upgrade" to a 16 on a DX?

OP
T

toomuchrum

Reaction score
Under my 'SD card and phone storage settings' it is telling me that

Total Space: 1.86GB
Available: 1.18GB

I'm assuming that my DX came with a 2GB SD card (thats why I want to upgrade to 16GB).

My 'Internal Phone Storage' says

Available Space: 6.19GB

Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't think I have a 32GB card like you are suggesting.

Thanks.

Technoman

Reaction score
They changed the X to a 2 gig card at some point.

The best way to do this is to copy all contents of the 2 gig card to your PC, change out the card in your phone. Attach the phone to your PC, and copy the contents (directories and files) to the new card.

OP
T