Upgrade SD Card in DX?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by toomuchrum, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. toomuchrum
    Offline

    toomuchrum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HI. I'm fairly new to the DX. I've 'rooted', applied the tethering, and recently upgraded the ROM to APEX 1.4.1. I'm learning!!!

    My question is. I'm running the pre-installed SD card that came with my DX. I recently purchased a larger card (16GB) that I want to install, BUT ... I don't want to loose any of the data/apps/etc that are on the original card. Is there a way to 'clone' the factory card over to the card that I will be installing? I do have a home PC with a SD card slot. If anyone knows of a tutorial or a step by step for cloning a DX SD card, it would be a great help!

    Thanks!
  2. qman66
    Offline

    qman66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    if u dont have a lot of things installed like less than 6gb u can transfer it to the root of the phone and then put the new card in and move it back. the root directory is /data
  3. toomuchrum
    Offline

    toomuchrum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, is there an easy way to do that? I'm fairly sure I have enough room on the DX built in memory. I have 'Astro' file manager installed. Is there a way to do it with that or is there a better way/app to move all from SD to phone memory?

    Thanks.
  4. nerdslogic
    Offline

    nerdslogic New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cybertron
    You know they have 32gb cards right?

    I am lost here....I have 16GB cards in both my D1 and D2.....why do you have to "upgrade" to a 16 on a DX?
  5. toomuchrum
    Offline

    toomuchrum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under my 'SD card and phone storage settings' it is telling me that

    Total Space: 1.86GB
    Available: 1.18GB

    I'm assuming that my DX came with a 2GB SD card (thats why I want to upgrade to 16GB).

    My 'Internal Phone Storage' says

    Available Space: 6.19GB

    Maybe I'm missing something, but I don't think I have a 32GB card like you are suggesting.

    Thanks.
  6. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Removed due to idiocy
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  7. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    They changed the X to a 2 gig card at some point.

    The best way to do this is to copy all contents of the 2 gig card to your PC, change out the card in your phone. Attach the phone to your PC, and copy the contents (directories and files) to the new card.
  8. toomuchrum
    Offline

    toomuchrum New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats for a direct and clear answer. I knew I could do this, but I was not sure if there was a linux (android) filesystem that needed to be kept intact (cloning). Thanks for the help!!!!
  9. Lex_Luthor
    Offline

    Lex_Luthor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Connect your phone to your computer via USB mass storage. Go to the SD cards contents. Go to the organize option on the opened window, then folder and search options. Then go to the view tab and make sure that show hidden files is checked. Now insert your other SD card to your computers slot wait for it to open. Go to your phones SD card and hit ctrl+A and then ctrl+C. Right click on the new SD card window and hit paste. Wait for it to stop copying and you should have your stuff copied to your new card now. So now just swap out your cards and you should be fine.

    I never tried this since i have the 16gig and dont really need more memory. But someone who knows more can chime in.
  10. 0reo
    Offline

    0reo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to just copy the files on the original card to the new card using a computer and a couple micro-SD USB adapters. Nothing fancy to it. No file system to wory about or anything. Easy-breezy.
Search tags for this page

what folders to copy when upgrading sd memory card motorola